Streamy Awards announce nominations for fifth annual show

The Streamy Awards, an annual digital awards show, announced its full list of nominees for this year’s event.

The show, which is designed to honor excellence in online video and those who create it, will take place at the Hollywood Palladium on Sept. 17. This will be the first time the show, organized by Dick Clark Productions and Tubefilter, will be broadcast on VH1.

This year, the awards introduced a social video category to include Instagram, Snapchat and Vine. There are also be categories for breakout creator and breakthrough artist, recognizing up-and-coming digital creators who haven’t been nominated before, and new subject awards for lifestyle channels and documentary or investigative series.

Snapchat scripted series SnapperHero took the lead with six Streamys nominations. Epic Rap Battles of History and Video Game High School followed, with four nominations each.

Since its inception, the Streamys have been a must-watch event for younger audiences, who mostly consume content online. Last year’s show, hosted by YouTube personalities Grace Helbig and Hannah Hart, racked up more than 7 million views on YouTube, 2.8 million Vine loops in 24 hours and three worldwide trending topics on Twitter.


“If the strength of this year’s nominees is any indication, we are on track for the biggest Streamys ever,” said Streamy Awards Creator Drew Baldwin in a statement. “This past year, video creators have inspired, educated, and entertained us like never before — and I can imagine no better way to celebrate our community’s achievements than with dick clark productions and VH1 for our first-ever television and digital broadcast.”

Here’s the complete list of nominees:

Awards For Channels, Series, or Shows

“Bee and Puppycat”
“Blank on Blank”
“Cyanide & Happiness”

Breakout Creator (new category)
Lauren Elizabeth
Rachel Levin
Jenn McAllister
Arden Rose
Matthew Santoro

“Ryan Higa”
“Jenna Marbles”
“Miranda Sings”
“Rhett & Link”

“Bootleg Universe”
“Frankenstein, MD”

First Person
“Grace Helbig”
“Tyler Oakley”

“Eat Our Feelings”
“The Katering Show”
“The New Adventures of Peter and Wendy”
“Player Piano”

“Jack & Dean”
“Korean Englishman”
“Racka Racka”

“Good Mythical Morning”
“Improv Everywhere”
“Kids React”

“30 for 30 Shorts” (“30 for 30")
“Hack Into Broad City” (“Broad City”)
“Saturday Night Line” (“Saturday Night Live”)
“Team Coco on Twitch” (“Conan”)
“The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon: Backstage”

Subject Awards

Action or Sci-Fi
“Action Movie Kid”
“Corridor Digital”
“Super Power Beat Down”
“Video Game High School”

“Andrea’s Choice”
“Gigi Gorgeous”
“Kandee Johnson”
“Ingrid Nilsen”
“Michelle Phan”

Documentary or Investigative (New Category)
“Atari: Game Over”
“Queens of Kings”
“Rituals with Laura Ling”
“Street Cuts”
“Thank You And Sorry”

“Maddi Bragg”
“Brooklyn And Bailey”
“Lauren Elizabeth”
“Maiah Ocando”
“Amanda Steele”

“Epic Meal Time”
“Nerdy Nummies”
“You Deserve A Drink”

“The Game Theorists”
“Smosh Games”

Health and Wellness
“Furious Pete”
“Superhero in Training”
“Tony Horton Fitness”

Kids and Family
“Eh Bee Family”
“Kid President”
“Kids React”
“What’s Up Moms”

Lifestyle (New Category)
“Joey Graceffa”
“Rachel Levin”
“Alisha Marie”
“Bethany Mota”

News and Culture
“BuzzFeed Video”
“MTV Braless”
“The Philip DeFranco Show”
“The Young Turks”

“Roman Atwood”
“The Janoskians”
“Magic Of Rahat”

Science or Education
“Crash Course”
“It’s Okay To Be Smart”

“Brodie Smith”
“Devin Super Tramp”
“Dude Perfect”
“The Ginger Runner”
“Red Bull”

Performance Awards

Bart Baker - “Bart Baker”
James Franco - “Making A Scene with James Franco”
Aasif Mandvi - “Halal in the Family”
Paul Scheer - “Scheer-RL”
James Van Der Beek - “Bootleg Universe”

Anna Akana - “SnapperHero”
Colleen Ballinger - “Miranda Sings”
Natasha Negovanlis - “Carmilla”
Ellary Porterfield - “Video Game High School”
Casey Wilson - “The Hotwives of Orlando”

Jimmy Kimmel and Viewers - “YouTube Challenge”
JusReign and Timothy DeLaGhetto - “JusReign”
Nice Peter, EpicLLOYD, Grace Helbig and Hannah Hart - “Epic Rap Battles of History”
Pentatonix and Lindsey Stirling - “Pentatonix”
Various Creators - “YouTube Rewind 2015"

Amymarie Gaertner
Israel “Izzy” Harris and Ashleigh Mitchell
Dominic Sandoval
Marquese Scott
Alyson Stoner

Ensemble Cast
“The Annoying Orange”
“The Hotwives of Orlando”
“Six Guys One Car”
“Video Game High School”

Music Awards

Breakthrough Artist (New Category)
Tori Kelly
Austin Mahone
Shawn Mendes
Rachel Platten

Cover Song
Fifth Harmony - “Uptown Funk” (Mark Ronson)
Pentatonix - “Evolution of Michael Jackson” (Michael Jackson)
Sam Tsui and Casey Breves - “Thinking Out Loud / I’m Not The Only One” (Ed Sheeran)
Tyler Ward featuring Charlie Puth - “See You Again” (Wiz Khalifa)
“Weird Al” Yankovic - “Foil” (Lorde)

Original Song
“Gibberish” - MAX
“Here” - Alessia Cara
“No Matter Where You Are” - Us the Duo
“Nobody Love” - Tori Kelly
“Take Flight” - Lindsey Stirling

Craft Awards

“2Cellos” - Ivan Slipcevic
“Devin Super Tramp” - Devin Graham
“Gymkhana” - Jordan Valenti
“Michelle Phan” - RiceBunny Productions
“Thirsty For…" - Jay Holzer and Gab Taraboulsy

Costume Design
“Bart Baker” - Amanda Hosler
“The Britishes” - Alisha Silverstein
“Epic Rap Battles of History” - Sulai Lopez
“The League of S.T.E.A.M.” - The League of S.T.E.A.M.
“The Most Popular Girls in School” - Jamie Brown, Mark Cope and Carlo Moss

“Bootleg Universe” - Joseph Kahn
“Kurt Hugo Schneider” - Kurt Hugo Schneider
“Improv Everywhere” - Charlie Todd
“SnapperHero, Sam Gorski” - Niko Pueringer, and Jake Watson
“Video Game High School” - Matt Arnold and Freddie Wong

“The Fourth Door” - Tony Valenzuela
“The Game Theorists” - Ronnie Edwards, Forrest Lee Black, and Ryder Burgin
“Epic Rap Battles of History” - Andrew Sherman, Ryan Moulton, Daniel Turcan and Peter Shukoff
“Mystery Guitar Man” - Joe Penna
“Vsauce” - Michael Stevens and Guy Larsen

Visual and Special Effects
“Action Movie Kid” - Daniel Hashimoto
“Andrew M Films” - Andrew McMurry
“Corridor Digital” - Sam Gorski, Niko Pueringer, and Jake Watson
“SnapperHero” - Sam Gorski, Niko Pueringer, and Jake Watson
“Zach King” - Zach King

“Bad Lip Reading” - Bad Lip Reading
“Epic Rap Battles of History” - Peter Shukoff, Lloyd Ahlquist and Zach Sherwin
“Honest Trailers” - Spencer Gilbert, Dan Murrell, Erica Russell and Andy Signore
“The Hotwives of Orlando” - Dannah Phirman and Danielle Schneider
“You Deserve A Drink” - Mamrie Hart

Social Video Awards

Short Form Comedy (New Category)
Brandon Calvillo
Brittany Furlan
Liane V
Rudy Mancuso
Logan Paul

Short Form Creativity (New Category)
Meagan Cignoli
Zach King
Shaun McBride

Snapchat Storyteller (New Category)
Chris Carmichael (chriscarm)
Jerome Jarre (jeromejarre)
Shaun McBride (shonduras)
Shay Mitchell (officialshaym)
Ryan Seacrest (ryanseacrest)

Cameron Dalllas
Brittany Furlan
King Bach
Lele Pons
DeStorm Power

Campaign Awards

Brand Campaign
“Crazy Plastic Ball Prank #WithDad” - Roman Atwood (Nissan)
“Kitten Therapy” - SoulPancake (Purina Tidy Cats)
“Watch Me (Whip/Nae Nae)” - DanceOn (Silentó)
“Totino Boy!” - Tim and Eric (Totino’s Pizza Rolls)
“Signature Pizzas” - Jack and Jack, Rooster Teeth and Andrea Russett (Pizza Hut)

Social Good Campaign
“Arnold Pranks Fans as the Terminator…for Charity” - After-School All Stars Prank it FWD
"#ProudToLove” - Marriage Equality and LGBT Pride Month
“Win a Coffee Date In LA with Connor Franta” - Thirst Project
“Tyler Oakley’s Birthday Campaign” - The Trevor Project

For more news on the entertainment industry, follow me @saba_h