Petit Trois, Goin, Narvaez and Taymor lead L.A.'s Beard nominees

Petit Trois, Goin, Narvaez and Taymor lead L.A.'s Beard nominees
Ludo Lefebvre, Vinny Dotolo and Jon Shook's hot spot Petit Trois is nominated for best new restaurant by the James Beard Foundation. Above, the famed escargot at Petit Trois. (Allen J. Schaben / Los Angeles Times)

Southern California chefs and restaurants earned nominations for seven major honors in the 2015 James Beard Foundation Restaurant and Chef Awards announced Tuesday.

Petit Trois is one of five finalists for the best new restaurant. Other nominees include Suzanne Goin of Lucques, AOC and Tavern, nominated for best chef; Mozza's Dahlia Narvaez, nominated for outstanding pastry chef; Spago, nominated for outstanding wine program; Alma's Ari Taymor, nominated for rising star; and Providence's Michael Cimarusti and the Animal team of Jon Shook and Vinny Dotola, nominated for best chef in the West.


Oaxacan standout Guelaguetza was named one of America's classic restaurants in an earlier announcement.

The final awards will be presented May 4 at the Lyric Opera of Chicago.

2015 James Beard Foundation Restaurant and Chef Awards nominees

Best new restaurant: Batard, New York; Central Provisions, Portland, Maine; Cosme, New York; Parachute, Chicago; Petit Trois, Los Angeles; Progress, San Francisco; Spoon and Stable, Minneapolis.

Outstanding baker: Joanne Chang, Flour Bakery + Cafe, Boston; Mark Furstenberg, Bread Furst, Washington, D.C.; Jim Lahey, Sullivan Street Bakery, New York; Belinda Leong and Michel Suas, B. Patisserie, San Francisco; William Werner, Craftsman and Wolves, San Francisco.

Outstanding bar program: Arnaud's French 75 Bar, New Orleans; Bar Agricole, San Francisco; Maison Premiere, Brooklyn, N.Y.; Trick Dog, San Francisco; Violet Hour, Chicago.

Outstanding chef: Michael Anthony, Gramercy Tavern, New York; Sean Brock, Husk, Charleston, S.C.; Suzanne Goin, Lucques, Los Angeles; Donald Link, Herbsaint, New Orleans; Marc Vetri, Vetri, Philadelphia.

Outstanding pastry chef: Dana Cree, Blackbird, Chicago; Maura Kilpatrick, Oleana, Cambridge, Mass.; Dahlia Narvaez, Osteria Mozza, Los Angeles; Ghaya Oliveira, Daniel, New York; Christina Tosi, Momofuku, New York.

Outstanding restaurant: Blue Hill at Stone Barns, Pocantico Hills, N.Y.; Highlands Bar and Grill, Birmingham, Ala.; Momofuku Noodle Bar, New York; Per Se, New York; Spotted Pig, New York.

Outstanding restaurateur: JoAnn Clevenger, Upperline, New Orleans; Donnie Madia, One Off Hospitality Group, Chicago (Blackbird, Avec, Publican and others); Michael Mina, Mina Group, San Francisco (Michael Mina, RN74, Bourbon Steak and others); Cindy Pawlcyn, Napa, Calif. (Mustards Grill, Cindy's Back Street Kitchen, and Cindy's Waterfront at the Monterey Bay Aquarium); Stephen Starr, Starr Restaurants, Philadelphia (Dandelion, Talula's Garden, Serpico and others).

Outstanding service: Barn at Blackberry Farm, Walland, Tenn.; Marea, New York; Quince, San Francisco; Restaurant August, New Orleans; Topolobampo, Chicago.

Outstanding wine program: A16, San Francisco; Bern's Steak House, Tampa, Fla; FIG, Charleston, S.C.; McCrady's, Charleston, S.C.; Spago, Beverly Hills.

Outstanding wine, beer, or spirits professional: Sam Calagione, Dogfish Head Craft Brewery, Milton, Del.; Ron Cooper, Del Maguey Single Village Mezcal, Ranchos de Taos, N.M.; Ted Lemon, Littorai Wines, Sebastopol, Calif.; Rajat Parr, Mina Group, San Francisco; Harlen Wheatley, Buffalo Trace Distillery, Frankfort, Ky.

Rising star chef of the year: Tanya Baker, Boarding House, Chicago; Alex Bois, High Street on Market, Philadelphia; Erik Bruner-Yang, Toki Underground, Washington, D.C.; Jessica Largey, Manresa, Los Gatos, Calif.; Cara Stadler, Tao Yuan, Brunswick, Maine; Ari Taymor, Alma, Los Angeles.


Best chef: Great Lakes: Curtis Duffy, Grace, Chicago; Jonathon Sawyer, Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland; Paul Virant, Vie, Western Springs, Ill.; Erling Wu-Bower, Nico Osteria, Chicago; Andrew Zimmerman, Sepia, Chicago.

Best chef: Mid-Atlantic: Joe Cicala, Le Virtù, Philadelphia; Spike Gjerde, Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore; Rich Landau, Vedge, Philadelphia; Greg Vernick, Vernick Food & Drink, Philadelphia; Cindy Wolf, Charleston, Baltimore.

Best chef: Midwest: Paul Berglund, Bachelor Farmer, Minneapolis; Justin Carlisle, Ardent, Milwaukee; Gerard Craft, Niche, Clayton, Mo.; Michelle Gayer, Salty Tart, Minneapolis; Lenny Russo, Heartland Restaurant & Farm Direct Market, St. Paul, Minn.

Best chef: Northeast: Karen Akunowicz, Myers + Chang, Boston; Barry Maiden, Hungry Mother, Cambridge, Mass.; Masa Miyake, Miyake, Portland, Maine; Cassie Piuma, Sarma, Somerville, Mass.; Andrew Taylor and Mike Wiley, Eventide Oyster Co., Portland, Maine.

Best chef: Northwest: Greg Denton and Gabrielle Quiñónez Denton, Ox, Portland, Ore.; Renee Erickson, Whale Wins, Seattle; Blaine Wetzel, Willows Inn on Lummi Island, Lummi Island, Wash.; Justin Woodward, Castagna, Portland, Ore.; Rachel Yang and Seif Chirchi, Joule, Seattle.

Best chef: New York City: Marco Canora, Hearth; Mario Carbone and Rich Torrisi, Carbone; Mark Ladner, Del Posto; Anita Lo, Annisa; Ignacio Mattos, Estela; Jonathan Waxman, Barbuto.

Best chef: South: Vishwesh Bhatt, Snackbar, Oxford, Miss.; Justin Devillier, La Petite Grocery, New Orleans; Jose Enrique, Jose Enrique, San Juan, PR; Slade Rushing, Brennan's, New Orleans; Alon Shaya, Domenica, New Orleans.

Best chef: Southeast: John Fleer, Rhubarb, Asheville, N.C.; Edward Lee, 610 Magnolia, Louisville, Ky.; Steven Satterfield, Miller Union, Atlanta; Jason Stanhope, FIG, Charleston, S.C.; Andrew Ticer and Michael Hudman, Andrew Michael Italian Kitchen, Memphis, Tenn.; Tandy Wilson, City House, Nashville.

Best chef: Southwest: Kevin Binkley, Binkley's, Cave Creek, Ariz.; Aaron Franklin, Franklin Barbecue, Austin, Texas; Bryce Gilmore, Barley Swine, Austin, Texas; Hugo Ortega, Hugo's, Houston; Martín Rios, Restaurant Martín, Santa Fe, N.M.; Justin Yu, Oxheart, Houston.

Best chef: West: Matthew Accarrino, SPQR, San Francisco; Stuart Brioza and Nicole Krasinski, State Bird Provisions, San Francisco; Michael Cimarusti, Providence, Los Angeles; Corey Lee, Benu, San Francisco; Jon Shook and Vinny Dotolo, Animal, Los Angeles.

America's Classics: Archie's Waeside, Le Mars, Iowa; Beaumont Inn, Harrodsburg, Ky.; Guelaguetza, Los Angeles; Sally Bell's Kitchen, Richmond, Va.; Sevilla Restaurant, New York.

The foundation previously announced the following honors:

Who's Who of Food and Beverage in America inductees: Allan Benton, pork producer and purveyor, Madisonville, Tenn.; Dale DeGroff, mixologist, New York; Wylie Dufresne, chef and restaurateur, New York; Nathalie Dupree, cookbook author and television personality, Charleston, S.C.; Maricel Presilla, chef, restaurateur and cookbook author, Hoboken, N.J.


Humanitarian of the year: Michael Nischan, chief executive and co-founder, Wholesome Wave, Westport, Conn.

Lifetime achievement award: Richard Melman, Lettuce Entertain You Enterprises, Chicago.

Are you a food geek? Follow me on Twitter @russ_parsons1