Angels’ Mike Scioscia riles White Sox’s David Robertson over replay
Mike Scioscia has had his issues with baseball’s instant-replay system, but Chicago White Sox closer David Robertson took issue with the Angels manager’s handling of a replay situation Wednesday night, going so far as to call Scioscia “bush league” for arguing a call that had already been reviewed.
Erick Aybar struck out on a ball in the dirt to open the ninth inning, and umpire Fieldin Culbreth ruled that catcher Tyler Flowers tagged Aybar out. Aybar, thinking he hadn’t been tagged, ran to first. Flowers did not throw to the bag, because Culbreth raised his fist, signaling out.
Scioscia challenged the call, which was upheld after a replay review, but he continued to argue near home plate, further delaying the game and possibly throwing off Robertson’s rhythm.
“I thought there were a lot of ridiculous things that went on that inning,” Robertson said. “I feel like Scioscia was very bush league going out and standing in front of home plate after the play had been reviewed. Once it’s been reviewed and he’s called out, there’s no good reason to come back and argue a call. I guess that’s just the way he is.”
Scioscia said it was “absolutely not my intent” to impede Robertson and that he continued to discuss the play with Culbreth because he was considering filing a protest.
“In fact, I thought I moved out of the way so he could throw, but he would have gotten a chance to throw anyway,” Scioscia told ESPN.com. “Not one iota of my intent was any gamesmanship. I had to get a reason for the ruling because if the ruling was he killed the play, then it was something I could protest.”
Robertson said the delay “changed the whole momentum” of the inning. C.J. Cron followed with an infield single, and pinch-runner Taylor Featherston took third on Johnny Giavotella’s hit-and-run single to right.
First baseman Jose Abreu fielded Conor Gillaspie’s grounder and stepped on the bag, but instead of throwing home, he threw to second, a decision that allowed Featherston to cross the plate and tie the score, 2-2.
“I was really frustrated with how that inning went,” Robertson said. “This one got me a little angry. Like I said, I think the rules say he can’t come out after a call has been reviewed. I think it should be an instant ejection. … He walks out and stands in front of home plate. He knows I would like to get a few pitches in there, but I wasn’t given that opportunity.”
Countered Scioscia: “There’s definitely a misunderstanding, because he was going to get to throw as many pitches as he needed. I just happened to be where the umpire was.”
Go beyond the scoreboard
Get the latest on L.A.'s teams in the daily Sports Report newsletter.
You may occasionally receive promotional content from the Los Angeles Times.