MVP and Cy Young Award winners from the same team


Of the 18 teams that have had two players win the MVP and Cy Young Award in the same season, 17 have finished first in the league or division. And the 18th, the 1962 Dodgers, finished the 162-game season tied with San Francisco before losing to the Giants in a three-game playoff. If Matt Kemp and Clayton Kershaw were to win this season, it would be the first time players from a team out of contention were so honored.

Year; MVP; Cy Young; Team

1957—Henry Aaron; Warren Spahn; Braves

1959—Nellie Fox ;Early Wynn; White Sox

1960—Dick Groat; Vern Law; Pirates

1961—Roger Maris; Whitey Ford; Yankees

1962—Maury Wills; Don Drysdale; Dodgers

1967—Carl Yastrzemski; Jim Lonborg; Red Sox

1974—Steve Garvey; Mike Marshall; Dodgers

1980—Mike Schmidt; Steve Carlton; Phillies

1982—Robin Yount; Pete Vuckovich; Brewers

1984—Ryne Sandberg; Rick Sutcliffe; Cubs

1988—Kirk Gibson; Orel Hershiser; Dodgers

1990—Rickey Henderson; Bob Welch; A’s

1990—Barry Bonds; Doug Drabek; Pirates

1991—Terry Pendleton; Tom Glavine; Braves

1993—Frank Thomas; Jack McDowell; White Sox

2002—Miguel Tejada; Barry Zito; A’s

2005—Albert Pujols; Chris Carpenter; Cardinals

2006—Justin Morneau; Johan Santana; Twins