R.A. Dickey, David Price win Cy Young Awards

Share via

Tampa Bay Rays left-hander David Price and New York Mets knuckleballer R.A. Dickey have won the Cy Young Awards in their respective leagues.

Price edged last year’s Cy Young winner, Justin Verlander of the Detroit Tigers, by drawing 14 of the 28 first-place votes in the American League. Verlander received 13 first-place votes and Rays closer Fernando Rodney, who finished fifth in the voting, received the other.

It was the second-closest balloting in Cy Young history, after the 1969 tie between Mike Cuellar of the Baltimore Orioles and Denny McLain of the Detroit Tigers. That was the last year in which voters could select only one pitcher instead of ranking them.

Price had a record of 20-5 to tie the Angels’ Jered Weaver for the AL lead in victories and winning percentage. The 27-year-old led the league with a 2.56 earned-run average and finished sixth in strikeouts with 205. Weaver finished third in the balloting.

Price, who finished second in the Cy Young voting in 2010 to Felix Hernandez, made 31 starts and threw 211.

Dickey, a 38-year-old right-hander, drew 27 of 32 first-place votes in the National League to finish ahead of Dodgers ace Clayton Kershaw, the 2011 winner, and Washington Nationals left-hander Gio Gonzalez.

Dickey, the first Cy Young winner to throw primarily a knuckleball, had a record of 20-6 with a 2.73 ERA. He led the National League in innings (233 2/3), strikeouts (230), complete games (5) and shutouts (3). He was the only pitcher listed on every ballot.


Angels’ Jered Weaver third in AL Cy Young balloting

Dodgers’ Clayton Kershaw second in NL Cy Young voting

Tim Tebow is called ‘terrible’ and more by Jets teammates