LeBron James wins Most Valuable Player award for fourth time

Miami Heat's LeBron James poses for photos after being awarded the NBA's Most Valuable Player award for the fourth time.
(J Pat Carter / Associated Press)
Share via

LeBron James was named the NBA’s Most Valuable Player on Sunday with 120 of 121 possible first-place votes.

The Miami Heat forward won the award for a second straight year and it was his fourth MVP in the past five season.

James averaged 26.8 points on 56.5% shooting with 8.0 rebounds and 7.3 assists for the 66-16 Heat.


Kobe Bryant came in fifth place with four second-place, 12 third-place, 23 fourth-place and 27 fifth place votes, for a total of 184 points.

Oklahoma City Thunder forward Kevin Durant came in second behind James with 765 points. New York Knicks forward Carmelo Anthony, who received the only other first-place vote, came in third with 475 points.

Chris Paul beat out Bryant with 289 points.

Bryant won the 2007-08 NBA MVP. Steve Nash is a two-time winner, earning the honor for both the 2004-05 and 2005-06 seasons.


Lakers season wrap: Brief but magical season for Andrew Goudelock

Metta World Peace promotes mental health with new campaign


Lakers season wrap: Jordan Hill pushed to return, help in playoffs

Email Eric Pincus at and follow him on Twitter @EricPincus.