Long Beach State to host one of 16 college baseball regionals

Long Beach State will be one of 16 host sites when the NCAA Division I baseball tournament begins this week.

Pairings and seedings will be announced during a selection show beginning at 9 a.m. Monday on ESPN2. This will be the first time Long Beach State hosts a regional since 2008.

Each regional will feature four teams playing in a double-elimination playoff. Regional winners advance to one of eight super-regionals, which are best-of-three, head-to-head playoffs for a spot in the College World Series.

The 49ers (37-17) won the Big West Conference with a record of 20-4, three games ahead of runner-up Cal Poly (28-28) and four ahead of third-place Cal State Fullerton (34-21).


Pac-12 Conference champion Oregon State (48-4) and runner-up Stanford (40-14) will also host regionals. The Beavers are the top-ranked team in the nation.

Five Atlantic Coast Conference teams and four from the Southeastern Conference were chosen as hosts.

The ACC hosts are North Carolina (47-12), Louisville (47-10), Florida State (39-20), Clemson (39-19) and Wake Forest (39-18). SEC hosts are Louisiana State (43-17), Florida (42-16), Kentucky (39-20) and Arkansas (42-17).


The other host schools are Texas Tech (43-15) and Texas Christian (42-16) of the Big 12 Conference, Southern Mississippi (48-14) of Conference USA and Houston (40-19) of the American Athletic Conference.

Get our daily Sports Report newsletter