Peyton Manning is unanimous pick as quarterback on All-Pro team

Peyton Manning
Denver quarterback Peyton Manning waves to fans after playing against the Texans in Houston on Dec. 22.
(David J. Phillip / Associated Press)

Peyton Manning isn’t the guy you want to bring up if you’re looking for a little lively debate among the folks who pick the Associated Press’ All-Pro football team.

All 50 of them think he’s the best quarterback in the NFL this season. And it’s hard to disagree when you consider Manning’s league-record 55 touchdown passes and 5,477 yards in leading the Broncos to a 13-3 record and the top overall seed in the AFC playoffs.

He made first team All-Pro for the seventh time, tying Hall of Famer Otto Graham for the most by a quarterback.

Manning was the only unanimous choice by the voting media members who regularly cover the NFL. New Orleans tight end Jimmy Graham and Indianapolis outside linebacker Robert Mathis came close to matching the feat by appearing on 49 ballots.


Philadelphia running back LeSean McCoy and Seattle cornerback Richard Sherman each garnered 48 votes.

The NFC had twice as many players chosen -- 18 to 9 -- than the AFC.

The complete list:

First team



Quarterback — Peyton Manning, Denver.

Running backs — LeSean McCoy, Philadelphia; Jamaal Charles, Kansas City.

Fullback — Mike Tolbert, Carolina.

Tight end — Jimmy Graham, New Orleans.

Wide receivers — Calvin Johnson, Detroit; Josh Gordon, Cleveland.

Tackles — Joe Thomas, Cleveland; Jason Peters, Philadelphia.

Guards — Louis Vasquez, Denver; Evan Mathis, Philadelphia.


Center — Ryan Kalil, Carolina.

Placekicker — Justin Tucker, Baltimore.

Kick returner — Cordarrelle Patterson, Minnesota.


Ends — J.J. Watt, Houston; Robert Quinn, St. Louis.

Tackles — Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay; Ndamukong Suh, Detroit.

Outside linebackers — Robert Mathis, Indianapolis; Lavonte David, Tampa Bay.

Inside linebacker — Luke Kuechly, Carolina; NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco.


Cornerbacks — Richard Sherman, Seattle; Patrick Peterson, Arizona.

Safeties — Earl Thomas, Seattle; Eric Berry, Kansas City.

Punter — Johnny Hekker, St. Louis.

Second team


Quarterback — None.

Running backs — Adrian Peterson, Minnesota; Eddie Lacy, Green Bay.

Fullback — Marcel Reece, Oakland.

Tight end — Vernon Davis, San Francisco.

Wide receivers — A.J. Green, Cincinnati; Demaryius Thomas, Denver; Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh.

Tackles — Tyron Smith, Dallas; Joe Staley, San Francisco.

Guards — Jahri Evans, New Orleans; Logan Mankins, New England; Josh Sitton, Green Bay.

Center — Alex Mack, Cleveland.

Placekicker — Matt Prater, Denver.

Kick returner — Dexter McCluster, Kansas City.


Ends — Mario Williams, Buffalo; Greg Hardy, Carolina.

Tackles — Dontari Poe, Kansas City; Muhammad Wilkerson, New York Jets; Jurrell Casey, Tennessee; Justin Smith, San Francisco.

Outside linebackers — Tamba Hali, Kansas City; Ahmad Brooks, San Francisco.

Inside linebackers — Vontaze Burfict, Cincinnati; Karlos Dansby, Arizona.

Cornerbacks — Aqib Talib, New England; Joe Haden, Cleveland; Alterraun Verner, Tennessee.

Safeties — Eric Weddle, San Diego; Kam Chancellor, Seattle; Jairus Byrd, Buffalo; T.J. Ward, Cleveland; Devin McCourty, New England; Antrel Rolle, New York Giants.

Punter — Brandon Fields, Miami.


Bears’ Jay Cutler signs seven-year extension

TV blackouts threaten three of four NFL playoff games

Vikings’ Mike Priefer denies allegations by former punter Chris Kluwe

Get our daily Sports Report newsletter