UCLA Sports

UCLA’s Aaron Holiday is a big winner on All-Pac-12 teams

UCLA’s Aaron Holiday was a two-time winner in the Pac-12 Conference basketball awards announced Monday, garnering first-team and all-defensive team honors in a vote by conference head coaches.

Holiday, who leads the conference with 20.1 points per game and ranks second with 5.8 assists, was joined on the first team by USC’s Chimezie Metu and Jordan McLaughlin, Arizona’s Deandre Ayton and Allonzo Trier, Utah’s Justin Bibbins, Washington’s Noah Dickerson, Arizona State’s Tra Holder, Oregon State’s Tres Tinkle and Stanford’s Reid Travis.

UCLA center Thomas Welsh was part of a second team that also includes Utah’s David Collette, Colorado’s George King, Oregon’s Payton Pritchard and Arizona’s Dusan Ristic.

UCLA forward Kris Wilkes was a member of the all-freshman team that also includes Ayton, Stanford’s Daejon Davis, Washington’s Jaylen Nowell and Colorado’s McKinley Wright IV. Holiday was joined on the all-defensive team by Ayton, McLaughlin, Washington’s Matisse Thybulle and Oregon’s Kenny Wooten.


The Pac-12 player of the year, freshman of the year, defensive player of the year, most improved player of the year, sixth man of the year, scholar-athlete of the year and coach of the year will be announced at 5 p.m. Monday on Pac-12 Networks.

USC and UCLA both open the Pac-12 tournament on Thursday at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas against opponents to be determined by first-round games on Wednesday.

Twitter: @latbbolch


Go beyond the scoreboard

Get the latest on L.A.'s teams in the daily Sports Report newsletter.

You may occasionally receive promotional content from the Los Angeles Times.