Following is a list of nominations for the 57th annual Academy Awards.

Picture: “Amadeus”; “The Killing Fields”; “A Passage to India”; “Places in the Heart”; “A Soldier’s Story.”

Actor: F. Murray Abraham, “Amadeus”; Jeff Bridges, “Starman”; Albert Finney, “Under the Volcano”; Tom Hulce, “Amadeus”; Sam Waterston, “The Killing Fields.”

Actress: Judy Davis, “A Passage to India”; Sally Field, “Places in the Heart”; Jessica Lange, “Country”; Vanessa Redgrave, “The Bostonians”; Sissy Spacek, “The River.”


Supporting Actor: Adolph Caesar, “A Soldier’s Story”; John Malkovich, “Places in the Heart”; Noriyuki (Pat) Morita, “The Karate Kid”; Haing S. Ngor, “The Killing Fields”; Ralph Richardson, “Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes.”

Supporting Actress: Peggy Ashcroft, “A Passage to India”; Glenn Close, “The Natural”; Lindsay Crouse, “Places in the Heart”; Christine Lahti, “Swing Shift”; Geraldine Page, “The Pope of Greenwich Village.”

Director: Woody Allen, “Broadway Danny Rose”; Robert Benton, “Places in the Heart”; Milos Forman, “Amadeus”; Roland Joffe, “The Killing Fields”; David Lean, “A Passage to India.”

Foreign-Language Film: “Beyond the Walls” (Israel); “Camila, A Gea” (Argentina); “Dangerous Moves” (Switzerland); “Double Feature” (Spain); “War-time Romance” (Soviet Union).

Original Song: “Against All Odds (Take a Look at Me Now)” (“Against All Odds”); “Footloose” (“Footloose”); “Ghostbusters” (“Ghostbusters”); “I Just Called to Say I Love You” (“The Woman in Red”); “Let’s Hear It for the Boy” (“Footloose”).

Original Screenplay: Daniel Petrie Jr., “Beverly Hills Cop”; Woody Allen, “Broadway Danny Rose”; Gregory Nava and Anna Thomas, “El Norte”; Robert Benton, “Places in the Heart”; Lowell Ganz, Babaloo Mandel and Bruce Jay Friedman, “Splash.”


Screenplay Adaptation: Peter Shaffer, “Amadeus”; P.H. Vazak and Michael Austin, “Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes”; Bruce Robinson, “The Killing Fields”; David Lean, “A Passage to India”; Charles Fuller, “A Soldier’s Story.”

Cinematography: Miroslav Ondricek, “Amadeus”; Chris Menges, “The Killing Fields”; Caleb Deschanel, “The Natural”; Ernest Day, “A Passage to India”; Vilmos Zsigmond, “The River.”

Original Score: John Williams, “Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom”; Randy Newman, “The Natural”; Maurice Jarre, “A Passage to India”; John Williams, “The River”; Alex North, “Under the Volcano.”

Original Song Score or Adaptation Score: Jeffrey Moss, “The Muppets Take Manhattan”; Prince, “Purple Rain”; Kris Kristofferson, “Songwriter.”

Art Direction: Patrizia Von Brandenstein and Karel Cerny, “Amadeus”; Richard Sylbert and George Gaines, “The Cotton Club”; Angelo Graham and Bruce Weintraub, “The Natural”; John Box and Hugh Scaife, “A Passage to India”; Albert Brenner and Rick Simpson, “2010.”

Costume Design: Theodor Pistek, “Amadeus”; Jenny Beavan and John Bright, “The Bostonians”; Judy Moorcroft, “A Passage to India”; Ann Roth, “Places in the Heart”; Patricia Norris, “2010.”

Documentary Feature: Charles Guggenheim and Nancy Sloss, “High Schools”; Alex W. Drehsler and Frank Christopher, “In the Name of the People”; Karel Dirka and Zev Braun, “Marlene”; Cheryl McCall, “Streetwise”; Robert Epstein and Richard Schmiechen, “The Times of Harvey Milk.”

Documentary Short Subject: UNICEF and the Soong Ching Ling Foundation, “The Children of Soong Ching Ling”; Ben Atchenberg and Joan Sawyer, “Code Gray: Ethical Dilemmas in Nursing”; Lawrence R. Hott and Roger M. Sherman, “The Garden of Eden”; Irina Kalinina, “Recollections of Pavlovsk”; Marjorie Hunt and Paul Wagner, “The Stone Carvers.”

Film Editing: Nena Danevic and Michael Chandler, “Amadeus”; Barry Malkin and Robert Q. Lovett, “The Cotton Club”; Jim Clark, “The Killing Fields”; David Lean, “A Passage to India”; Donn Cambern and Frank Morriss, “Romancing the Stone.”

Animated Short Film: Jon Minnis, “Charade”; Morton Schindel and Michael Sporn, “Doctor Desoto”; Ishu Patel, “Paradise.”

Live-Action Short Film: Michael MacMillan and Janice L. Platt, “The Painted Door”; Sharon Oreck and Lesli Linka Glatter, “Tales of Meeting and Parting”; Mike Hoover, “Up.”

Sound: Mark Berger, Tom Scott, Todd Boekelheide and Chris Newman, “Amadeus”; Bill Varney, Steve Maslow, Kevin O’Connell and Nelson Stoll, “Dune”; Graham V. Hartstone, Nicolas Le Messurier, Michael A. Carter and John Mitchell, “A Passage to India”; Nick Alphin, Robert Thirlwell, Richard Portman and David Ronne, “The River”; Michael J. Kohut, Aaron Rochin, Carlos De Larios and Gene S. Cantamessa, “2010.”

Visual Effects: Richard Edlund, John Bruno, Mark Vargo and Chuck Gasper, “Ghostbusters”; Dennis Muren, Michael McAlister, Lorne Peterson and George Gibbs, “Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom”; Richard Edlund, Neil Krepela, George Jensen and Mark Stetson, “2010.”

Makeup: Paul LeBlanc and Dick Smith, “Amadeus”; Rick Baker and Paul Engelen, “Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan”; Michael Westmore, “2010.”