6 Authors Win PEN Awards

The Los Angeles Center of PEN, an international association of writers, presented its awards for outstanding literary achievement to six authors at its annual awards dinner held recently in Los Angeles.

Ray Bradbury received the organization's Body of Work award. Danny Santiago, author of the novel "Famous All Over Town," was the recipient of the President's Award presented by PEN president Malcolm Boyd.

Other honorees were Jackson Benson, author of "The True Adventures of John Steinbeck, Writer," for nonfiction; Harriet Doerr, author of "Stones for Ibarra," for fiction; David Antin, author of "Tuning," for poetry. Theodor Geisel (Dr. Seuss) received the award in children's literature for "The Butter Battle Book."

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World