Advertisement

Raiders, Rams to Play Openers on the Road

The Raiders and Rams will see plenty of the road in the opening weeks of the National Football League season.

The NFL schedule announced Wednesday has both teams on the road for their openers Sept. 7, the Rams at St. Louis for a 10 a.m. (PDT) game and the Raiders at Denver for a 1 p.m. (PDT) kickoff.

The Raiders follow with a visit to Washington the next Sunday before playing the New York Giants in their home opener Sept. 21. The Rams open at home Sept. 14 against San Francisco, before going back on the road for games at Indianapolis and Philadelphia.

There’s another catch to the Raiders’ schedule.

Advertisement

“The league has finally realized that eminent domain is over,” said Al LoCasale, Raider executive assistant, referring to Oakland’s attempt to regain the Raiders. “For the first time in five years (since the Raiders moved to Los Angeles), this schedule couldn’t be played in the Oakland Coliseum.

“I was looking it over last night and saw we’d have some conflicts with the A’s.”

RAIDER SCHEDULE

EXHIBITIONS: Sat. or Sun., Aug. 9 or 10, at San Francisco, 1 p.m.; Sat., Aug. 16, Dallas, 6 p.m.; Sat., Aug. 23, New England, TBA; Fri., Aug. 23, TBA.

Advertisement

REGULAR-SEASON GAMES: Sun., Sept. 7, at Denver, 1 p.m.; Sun., Sept. 14, at Washington, 10 a.m.; Sun., Sept. 21, New York Giants, 1 p.m.; Sun., Sept. 28, San Diego, 1 p.m.; Sun., Oct. 5, at Kansas City, 10 a.m.; Sun., Oct. 12, Seattle, 1 p.m.; Sun., Oct. 19, at Miami, 10 a.m.; Sun., Oct. 26, at Houston, 10 a.m.; Sun., Nov. 2, Denver, 1 p.m.; Sun., Nov. 9, at Dallas, 1 p.m.; Sun., Nov. 16, Cleveland, 1 p.m.; Thurs., Nov. 20, at San Diego, 5 p.m.; Sun., Nov. 30, Philadelphia, 1 p.m.; Mon., Dec. 8, at Seattle, 6 p.m.; Sun., Dec. 14, Kansas City, 1 p.m.; Sun., Dec. 21, Indianapolis, 1 p.m.

All times Pacific.

RAM SCHEDULE

EXHIBITIONS: Wed., Aug. 6, Houston, 7 p.m.; Mon., Aug. 18, San Francisco, 6 p.m.; Sat., Aug. 23, San Diego, 7 p.m.; Fri., Aug. 29, at Denver, 6 p.m.

Advertisement

REGULAR-SEASON GAMES: Sun., Sept. 7, at St. Louis, 10 a.m.; Sun., Sept. 14, San Francisco, 1 p.m.; Sun., Sept. 21, at Indianapolis, 10 a.m.; Sun., Sept. 28, at Philadelphia, 10 a.m.; Sun., Oct. 5, Tampa Bay, 1 p.m.; Sun., Oct. 12, at Atlanta, 10 a.m.; Sun., Oct. 19, Detroit, 1 p.m.; Sun., Oct. 26, Atlanta, 1 p.m.; Mon., Nov. 3, at Chicago, 6 p.m.; Sun., Nov. 9, at New Orleans, 10 a.m.; Sun., Nov. 16, New England, 1 p.m.; Sun., Nov. 23, New Orleans, 1 p.m.; Sun., Nov. 30, at New York Jets, 10 a.m.; Sun., Dec. 7, Dallas, 6 p.m.; Sun., Dec. 14, Miami, 1 p.m.; Fri., Dec. 19, at San Francisco, 5 p.m.

All Times Pacific.


Advertisement