Times Staff Writer

“As the World Turns,” “Santa Barbara,” “Pee-wee’s Playhouse” and “The Young & the Restless” took the lead in nominations for the 14th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards, announced Thursday by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) and the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (ATAS).

Drama series--better known as the soap opera--netted more nominations than any other type of daytime programming in the competition which includes drama, talk shows, game shows, children’s programming and various special programming classes.

Still, “Pee-wee’s Playhouse,” a whimsical Saturday morning children’s program which ranked third in number of nominations, “The Oprah Winfrey Show,” which came in eighth in total nominations, “The Price Is Right” and “Sesame Street” also managed to garner multiple nominations.


Winfrey will be the host when the Daytime Emmy Awards winners are announced June 30 on an ABC telecast originating in New York. The awards cover programs broadcast between March 6, 1986, and March 5 of this year.

CBS, home of the leading daytime nominee “As the World Turns"(20 nominations), also came out on top as the most-nominated network, garnering 78 of the 192 total nominations. NBC received 37 and ABC 32. PBS and syndicated programming received 24 and 21, respectively.

Following “As the World Turns” in total nominations were “Santa Barbara” (14); “Pee-wee’s Playhouse” and “The Young & the Restless” (both got 12). Next was “Days of Our Lives” (7) and a five-way tie between “All My Children,” “Guiding Light,” “The Oprah Winfrey Show,” “The Price Is Right” and “Sesame Street” with six each.

Nominees for outstanding drama series are ABC’s “All My Children,” NBC’s “Santa Barbara” and CBS’ “The Young & the Restless” and “As the World Turns.”

Lead actress nominees for drama series are Elizabeth Hubbard as Lucinda Walsh of “As The World Turns,” Susan Lucci as Erica Kane of “All My Children,” Frances Reid as Alice Horton of “Days of Our Lives,” Marcy Walker as Eden Capwell of “Santa Barbara” and Kim Zimmer as Reva Shayne of “Guiding Light.”

The lead actor nominees for drama series are Eric Braeden as Victor Newman and Terry Lester as Jack Abbott in “The Young & the Restless,” Scott Bryce as Craig Montgomery and Larry Bryggman as Dr. John Dixon in “As the World Turns” and A Martinez as Cruz Castillo on Santa Barbara.

In the game/audience participation show category, the nominees are the syndicated “Jeopardy!,” CBS’ “The Price Is Right” and “The $25,000 Pyramid” and NBC’s “Wheel of Fortune.”

The game show host nominees are Bob Barker of “The Price Is Right,” Dick Clark of “Pyramid,” Pat Sajak of “Wheel of Fortune” and Alex Trebek of “Jeopardy!”

Selected in the talk/service show category are the syndicated “Donahue,” “Hour Magazine,” “The Oprah Winfrey Show” and PBS’ “This Old House.” The talk/service show hosts nominees are Gary Collins of “Hour Magazine,” Phil Donahue and Oprah Winfrey.

Nominated as outstanding children’s series are PBS’ “Mister Rogers Neighborhood,” “Sesame Street” and “3-2-1 Contact” and CBS’ “Pee-wee’s Playhouse.”

The children’s special nominees were all broadcast as “ABC Afterschool Specials”: “The Mouse and the Motorcycle,” “Supermom’s Daughter,” “Teen Father” and “Wanted: The Perfect Guy.”

Animated program nominees are NBC’s “Alvin and the Chipmunks,” “Disney’s Adventures of the Gummi Bears,” “Punky Brewster” and “The Smurfs” and CBS’ “Jim Henson’s Muppet Babies.”

The special class program area nominees are ABC’s “The Children of Ellis Island” and “Learn to Read!” (“ABC Notebook”), NBC’s “One to Grow On” and “Taking Children Seriously” and the syndicated programs “The People’s Court” and “700 Club.”