Milli Vanilli, Travis and Dancers Star at American Music Awards

From Times Wire Services

German duo Milli Vanilli and country crooner Randy Travis were triple-winners Monday night as dance music dominated the 17th Annual American Music Awards.

Five dance acts--Janet Jackson, Bobby Brown, Paula Abdul, rapper M. C. Hammer and New Kids On The Block--each won two awards, along with heavy-metal rockers Guns 'N Roses.

Nominees were compiled from year-end charts in the music industry trade publication Cash Box. Winners were selected by 20,000 members of the public chosen on the basis of age, sex, geographic location and ethnicity.

Milli Vanilli, an international duo with a lively pop sound capitalizing on dance trends crossing different music styles, beat stiff competition during the three-hour show broadcast live on ABC-TV Monday night at the Shrine Auditorium.

The duo won favorite new pop-rock artist over critically acclaimed rockers Living Colour and the all-star collaboration of the Traveling Wilburys.

They also upstaged Bon Jovi's "I'll Be There For You" and Gloria Estefan's "Don't Wanna Lose You" to win the pop-rock single trophy with "Girl You Know It's True."

Milli Vanilli, also the favorite new soul-rhythm & blues artists, dedicated their crystal obelisk trophies to the stirrings of freedom in Eastern Europe.

"We want to say that this is a symbol of freedom and peace in the world and for East and West Germany," Rob Pilatus, a member of the duo and a native West German, said backstage.

Travis claimed all three awards in the country category, defeating George Strait and Hank Williams Jr. for favorite male vocalist and besting Alabama's "If I Had You" and Strait's "Baby's Gotten Good at Goodbye" for favorite single with his "Deeper Than the Holler."

Travis' "Old 8 X 10" LP was the favorite country album.

Jackson, sister of pop superstar Michael Jackson, won for her "Miss You Much" single in both the dance and soul-rhythm and blues categories.

Abdul, the vivacious ex-cheerleader for the Los Angeles Lakers, won two of four nominations, female pop-rock vocalist and favorite dance artist.

Teeny bop sensation New Kids On The Block won the pop-rock album trophy for the "Hangin' Tough" LP and also were named favorite pop-rock group.

For the eighth consecutive year, the group Alabama was named favorite country duo or group.


Male Vocalist: Bobby Brown

Female Vocalist: Paula Abdul

Duo or Group: New Kids On The Block

Single: "Girl You Know It's True," Milli Vanilli

Album: "Hangin' Tough," New Kids On The Block

New Artist: Milli Vanilli


Male Vocalist: Luther Vandross

Female Vocalist: Anita Baker

Duo or Group: The O'Jays

Single: "Miss You Much," Janet Jackson

Album: "Don't Be Cruel," Bobby Brown

New Artist: Milli Vanilli


Male Vocalist: Randy Travis

Female Vocalist: Reba McEntire

Duo Or Group: Alabama

Single: "Deeper Than A Holler," Randy Travis

Album: "Old 8 X 10," Randy Travis

New Artist: Clint Black


Artist: Guns N' Roses

Album: "Appetite For Destruction," Guns N' Roses

New Artist: Skid Row


Artist: M.C. Hammer

Album: "Let's Get It Started," M.C. Hammer

New Artist: Young M.C.


Artist: Paula Abdul

Single: "Miss You Much," Janet Jackson

New Artist: Tone Loc


Award of Achievement: Prince, for his "outstanding contributions to the music industry."

Award of Merit: Neil Diamond, in recognition of his three-decade career.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World