‘Santa Barbara,’ Two Latino Stars Top Daytime Emmy List : Awards: Joan Rivers rebounds from Fox debacle to take best talk show host honors. Susan Lucci of ‘All My Children’ was a loser for the 11th year in a row.


NBC’s “Santa Barbara” was named best drama series for the third year in a row and two of its Latino stars also walked off with awards Thursday at the 17th annual Daytime Emmy Awards.

“Sally Jessy Raphael” won the Emmy as best talk show and PBS’ “Reading Rainbow” was honored as best children’s series in ceremonies held at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City and broadcast nationally on ABC.

Joan Rivers, whose late-night talk show flopped on Fox Broadcasting three years ago, was chosen daytime’s best talk show host, even though her syndicated series, “The Joan Rivers Show,” was not nominated.

“I always had a fantasy about winning one of these,” Rivers said in her acceptance speech.


While handing out thank yous to her staff, she began to cry. “Two years ago, I couldn’t get a job and my income dropped,” she said. Then, alluding to her late husband, Edgar Rosenberg, who committed suicide in August, 1987, she said, “This is really for him. He was with me at the beginning.”

“Jeopardy!” was named best game show, and its host, Alex Trebek, shared the Emmy for best host with Bob Barker of “The Price Is Right.” Trebek had won last year; Barker won in 1987 and 1988.

A tie also was voted in the category of best animated program. ABC’s “The New Adventures of Winnie the Pooh,” which won last year, shared this year’s award with another Saturday morning series on ABC, “Beetlejuice.”

Besides the Emmy for best daytime soap opera, “Santa Barbara” also picked up awards for A Martinez as best actor, Henry Darrow as best supporting actor, directing and lighting direction. The NBC serial had won six Emmys last year.


Kim Zimmer, who plays Reva Shayne Lewis on “Guiding Light,” was named best actress in a daytime drama. Among the actresses she beat out was Susan Lucci of “All My Children,” who has now been nominated for 11 consecutive years without winning. One of Lucci’s co-stars, Julia Barr, won as best supporting actress.

Overall, CBS won 12 Daytime Emmys and PBS captured 11--seven for “Sesame Street.” Syndicated programs garnered 10, NBC got 9, ABC received 8 and the Disney Channel got 1.

The Daytime Emmys, covering the period between March 6, 1989 and March 5, 1990, were presented jointly by the Los Angeles-based Academy of Television Arts & Sciences and the New York-based National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

Awards for prime-time programming will be presented Sept. 16.


Here is the full list of winners, including those handed out in nontelevised ceremonies last Saturday.

Drama Series: “Santa Barbara,” NBC.

Game/Audience Participation Show: “Jeopardy!,” syn.

Children’s Series: “Reading Rainbow,” PBS.


Children’s Special: “CBS Schoolbreak Special: A Matter of Conscience,” CBS.

Animated Program: “Beetlejuice,” ABC; “The New Adventures of Winnie the Pooh,” ABC.

Talk/Service Show: “Sally Jessy Raphael,” syn.

Actress, Drama Series: Kim Zimmer (Reva Shayne Lewis), “Guiding Light,” CBS.


Actor, Drama Series: A Martinez (Cruz Castillo), “Santa Barbara,” NBC.

Supporting Actress, Drama Series: Julia Barr (Brooke English), “All My Children,” ABC.

Supporting Actor, Drama Series: Henry Darrow (Rafael Castillo), “Santa Barbara,” NBC.

Juvenile Female, Drama Series: Cady McClain (Dixie Martin), “All My Children,” ABC.


Juvenile Male, Drama Series: Andrew Kavovit (Paul Stenbeck), “As the World Turns,” CBS.

Game Show Host: Alex Trebek, “Jeopardy!” syn.; Bob Barker, “The Price Is Right,” CBS.

Talk/Service Show Host: Joan Rivers, “The Joan Rivers Show,” syn.

Writing, Drama Series: Pamela K. Long, Nancy Curlee, Trent Jones, Jeff Ryder, Stephen Demorest, Garrett Foster, Peter Brash, Nancy Williams, Patty Gideon Sloan, Richard Culliton, N. Gail Lawrence, Pete T. Rich, Melissa Salmons, “Guiding Light,” CBS.


Directing Team, Drama Series: Michael Gliona, Rick Bennewitz, Rob Schiller, Pamela Fryman, Jeanine Guarneri-Frons, “Santa Barbara,” NBC.

Performer, Children’s Special: Greg Spottiswood, “Looking for Miracles,” Disney Channel.

Performer, Children’s Series: Kevin Clash, “Sesame Street,” PBS.

Writing, Children’s Series: Norman Stiles, Judy Freudberg, Cathi Rosenberg-Turow, Nancy Sans, Tony Geiss, Luis Santeiro, Jeff Moss, Sara Compton, Belinda Ward, John Weidman, Josh Selig, Emily Perl Kingsley, David Korr, Sonia Manzano, Mark Saltzman, Jon Stone, “Sesame Street,” PBS.


Writing, Children’s Special: Paul Cooper, “CBS Schoolbreak Special: A Matter of Conscience,” CBS.

Writing, Special Class: Glenn Kirschbaum, “Remembering World War II--Hitler: Man & Myth,” syn.; Robert Kirk, “Remembering World War II--Pearl Harbor,” syn.

Directing, Game/Audience Participation Show: Joseph Behar, “Fun House,” syn.

Directing, Talk/Service Show: Russell Morash, “This Old House,” PBS.


Directing, Children’s Series: Mike Gargiulo, Charles Dubin, “Square One TV,” PBS.

Directing, Special Class: Victoria Hochberg, “Wonderworks: Sweet 15,” PBS.

Costume Design: Bill Kellard, Caroly Wilcox, Kermit Love, Connie Peterson, Paul Hartis, Barry Link, Peter MacKennan, Stephan Rotondaro, Mark Zeszotek, “Sesame Street,” PBS.

Costume Design for a Drama Series: Carol Luiken, Charles Clute, “All My Children,” ABC; Margarita Delgado, Charles Schoonmaker, “Another World,” NBC.


Music Direction and Composition: Christopher Cerf, Jeff Moss, Tony Geiss, Sarah Durkee, Stephen Lawrence, Cheryl Hardwick, Paul Jacobs, David Conner, “Sesame Street,” PBS.

Music Direction and Composition for a Drama Series: Marty Davich, Amy Burkhard, Ken Corday, “Days of Our Lives,” NBC.

Makeup: David Abbott, Gil Mosko, “The Munsters Today,” syn.

Makeup for a Drama Series: Mark Landon, Steve Artmont, Ed Heim, “The Young and the Restless,” CBS.


Hairstyling: Andre Walker, “The Oprah Winfrey Show,” syn.

Hairstyling for a Drama Series: Angel De Angelis, John Quaglia, Annette Bianco, Joyce Sica, “Another World,” NBC.

Cinematography: James Carter, “ABC Afterschool Special: Torn Between Two Fathers,” ABC.

Lighting Direction: Jim Tetlow, Bill Berner, “Sesame Street,” PBS.


Lighting Direction for a Drama Series: Brian McRae, Ted C. Polmanski, “Santa Barbara,” NBC.

Videotape Editing: Robert J. Emerick, Eva Marie Keller, “Sesame Street,” PBS.

Videotape Editing for a Drama Series: Dan Brumett, Marc Beruti, “The Young and the Restless,” CBS.

Film Editing: Stan Salfas, “ABC Afterschool Special: All That Glitters,” ABC.


Film Sound Editing: Charles King, Rick Hinson, Richard Harrison, “Ducktales,” syn.

Film Sound Mixing: Kim Ornitz, Douglas Gray, T.W. Davis, Brian Risner, “CBS Schoolbreak Special: The Girl With the Crazy Brother,” CBS.

Live and Tape Sound Mixing and Sound Effects: David E. Fluhr, Galen W. Handy, “ABC Afterschool Special: Torn Between Two Fathers,” ABC.

Live and Tape Sound Mixing and Sound Effects for a Drama Series: Pat Lucatorto, Tommy Persson, Don Henderson, Maurice (Smokey) Westerfeld, Peter Romano, Rafael Valentin, Harold Linstrot, “The Young and the Restless,” CBS.


Graphics and Title Design: Penelope Gottlieb, “Generations,” NBC.

Art Direction/Set Decoration/Scenic Design: Victor Di Napoli, Nat Mongioi, Mike Pantuso, “Sesame Street,” PBS.

Art Direction/Set Decoration/Scenic Design for a Drama Series: Lawrence King, Elmon Webb, Holmes Easley, David Harnish, Paul W. Hickey, “As the World Turns,” CBS.

Technical Direction/Electronic Camera/Video Control: Ray Angona, Jose Arvizu, Cesar Cabreira, Keeth Lawrence, Martin Wagner, Allen Latter, “The Price Is Right,” CBS.


Technical Direction/Electronic Camera/Video Control for a Drama Series: Janice Bendikson, Ervin D. Hurd Jr., Sheldon Mooney, Joel Binger, Joseph Vicens, Dave Navarette, Roberto Bosio, Scha Jani, “The Young and the Restless,” CBS.

Governor’s Award: Game show producer Mark Goodson.