Carson elementary school students have been honored...

Carson elementary school students have been honored for anti-litter posters and essays in an annual competition sponsored by the Carson Environmental Commission.

Poster contest winners were Yvonne Rapanut, William Carrillo, Jordan Kiaha and Nikki Sutphin of Caroldale Avenue School and Franz Alameda of 232nd Place School. Second-place posters were drawn by Jennifer Houlihan of Bonita Street School, Tom Gonzales of Caroldale and Monica Senenfelder of 232nd Place. Third-place winners were Bryant Valin of Towne Avenue School, Gabriel Palomares of Dolores Street School and Akeem Mills of Bonita Street.

First-place essayists were Janet Mendoza of Towne Avenue and David Rivera and Cameron Czarniecki of Caroldale. Second places went to Cindy Bantad of Bonita Street and Myralynn Arzaga of St. Philomena School. Third-place winners were Susan Gonzalez of St. Philomena and Eric Wosick of Bonita Street.

Dolores Street won the clean campus contest, Towne Avenue was second and Leadwood Avenue School was third.


Two Redondo Beach women have been elected to the executive board of the Los Angeles County Museum of Art’s Museum Service Council. They are Bernice Wilson, corresponding secretary, and Bette Henning, recording secretary.

Lavinia M. Bailey of El Segundo has been reelected regent of the El Redondo chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution for a second term. Other officers are Patricia Hein of Redondo Beach and Carolyn Bushnell of Marina del Rey, vice regents; Bliss Pinkerton of Redondo Beach and Nancy Wagoner of Rancho Palos Verdes, secretaries; Hazel Miller and Zora Selliken of Torrance and Mary Bhuta and Sarah Fandey of Redondo Beach. Newly elected board members are Bonnie Brown of Culver City and Bonnie Pry of Redondo Beach. Membership is open to women whose ancestors fought in or supported the American Revolution.

Jacqui Snavely is the new president of Las Madrecitas, auxiliary of Crippled Children’s Guild of Orthopaedic Hospital. Other officers are Barbara Ferraro, Eileen Tremonti, Kathleen Willock, Beverly Narahara and Judy Valliere.

New officers of Congregation Ner Tamid in Rancho Palos Verdes for 1990-1991 are Sandra Lurie, president; Joe Fierstein, Willis Binnard, Fred Freedman, Joe Nimoy, Robin Franko, Suzan Waks, Mercedes Stein, Marjorie Kaplan, Ilene Beber, Pat Stein, Myra Diamond and Michael Salzman, vice presidents; board members are Allen Silberman, Mark Simon, Gila Katz, Seymour Markowitz and Elaine Herold.


Danielle Lakata, a spring graduate of Palos Verdes High School, won a $600 cash scholarship in Citibank’s statewide 1990-91 Calendar Art Scholarship Program. Lakata based her prize-winning drawing “Splash” on her observation that living in California is like a collage of experiences.

The Center for the Advancement of Academically Talented Youth of Johns Hopkins University has awarded honors to Lukman Suryadi and John Yoon of Dana Middle School in Hawthorne. Participants in the Talent Search took the college board (SAT) tests in January. Suryadi, son of Hari Sunjoto and Jun-Lan Siauw of Hawthorne, was awarded the Certificate of Distinction in Mathematics at the state and regional levels. He also performed with distinction on the test of written English. Yoon, son of Lisa and Howard Yoon of Hawthorne, was awarded the Certificate of Distinction for the English portion of the test.

Two Redondo Beach elementary school students have been honored by the Automobile Club of Southern California for their award-winning entries in the American Automobile Assn.'s National School Traffic Safety Poster Program. Posters by St. Lawrence Martyr third-grader Amanda Reams and fourth-grader Carolina Dualto illustrated the theme “Look All Ways Before Crossing.”

Earl Brown, retired superintendent of the South Bay Union High School District, has been honored for 18 years of service to the Salvation Army’s Meals on Wheels Program in Redondo Beach.