MSL Players’ Union Accepts a Reduction in Salary Cap


An expected announcement on the future of the MSL on Monday was instead replaced with an announcement that the players’ union has accepted a reduction in the salary cap. It is now $550,000, down from $670,000.


Michael Jordan, Charles Barkley and Chris Mullin will join 26 NBA players in tonight’s fourth Seagram’s Coolers All-Star Basketball Classic at the Sports Arena beginning at 7:30.

The game, which will benefit the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, will also feature: Mark Aguirre (Pistons); Byron Scott (Lakers); Dominique Wilkins and Kevin Willis (Hawks); Ron Harper, Charles Smith, Gary Grant and Olden Polynice (Clippers); Antoine Carr and Spud Webb (Kings); Sean Elliot (Spurs); Jud Buechler, Chris Dudley, Jack Haley, Reggie Theus and Tate George (Nets); Mark Jackson (Knicks); Shawn Kemp (Sonics); Brian Shaw (Celtics); Jerry Reynolds and Dennis Scott (Magic); Herb Williams (Mavericks); Pooh Richardson (Timberwolves); Reggie Miller (Pacers); Jerome Kersey (Blazers), and Cliff Levingston (Bulls), who is the event’s chairman.



Vanessa Rooks of Spring Valley advanced to today’s third round of the USTA Girls’ 16 National Championships with a 6-0, 6-1 victory over Adrien Alder of Ogden, Utah.