The Heisman Trophy

On Dec. 14, the Downtown Athletic Club of New York will present the award we now know as the Heisman Trophy for the 62nd time. The following is a list of Heisman "lasts."

The last winner from the Ivy League: Dick Kazmaier, Princeton (1952).

The last player from Army to win: Pete Dawkins (1958).

The last player from Navy to win: Roger Staubach (1963).

The last player from Notre Dame to win: Tim Brown (1987).

The last five players from "non-skilled" positions to finish in the top four in voting: Steve Emtman, DT, Washington (1991), finished fourth to Desmond Howard, Michigan; Brian Bosworth, LB, Oklahoma (1986), finished fourth to Vinny Testaverde, Miami; Hugh Green, DE, Pittsburgh (1980), finished second to George Rogers, South Carolina; John Hicks, OT, Ohio State (1973), finished second to John Cappelletti, Penn State; Rich Glover, NT, Nebraska (1972), finished third to Johnny Rodgers, Nebraska.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World