Gremett Earns First Victory

Lance Gremett closed out the 2003 NAPA Auto Parts/SCRA sprint cars season by winning the 50-lap Jack Kindoll Classic on Saturday at the Perris Auto Speedway for his first career SCRA victory.

The Escondido driver saved his tires and took the lead from Cory Kruseman on the 41st lap and was never challenged again.

Kruseman of Ventura, who picked up $30,000 at Perris after he won the Oval Nationals last Sunday, started on the pole with Mike Spencer of Temecula to his outside. Kruseman led the first 13 laps before his car developed a push, causing him to drop as far back as fifth.

Richard Griffin assumed the lead briefly but was forced to relinquish his lead after making a tire change. He finished ninth.

Levi Jones of Olney, Ill., finished second ahead of Damion Gardner, Kruseman and Tony Elliott.

Before the main event, Griffin of Silver City, N.M., clinched his fifth SCRA driving title in six years.

New Jersey driver P.J. Chasson forced the race to be stopped after he flipped his car in Turn 1, 15 laps from the finish. Two laps later, John Scott and 16-year-old Alan Ballard of Bakersfield tangled, sending Scott's car flipping into the Turn 3 wall. Charles Davis Jr. of Buckeye, Ariz., caused the final stoppage on Lap 44 after he flipped in Turn 2. None of the drivers involved was injured.

Camarillo driver Josh Ford, 21, failed to transfer to the main event but already had earned enough points to get the rookie-of-the-year award.

-- Robert Mayson

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World