Texas Wins Sixth College World Series Title

From Associated Press

Texas is back on top with another College World Series championship.

Kyle McCulloch pitched 6 2/3 strong innings in 93-degree heat, and David Maroul and Chance Wheeless homered Sunday to lead the Longhorns past Florida, 6-2, to win the school’s sixth championship.

Strengthened by a gutsy run through the regional and super- regional rounds, when they had to win five elimination games to get to Omaha, the Longhorns (56-16) completed the sweep of the Gators in the best-of-three championship series. They won the first game, 4-2, Saturday, and were unbeaten in five games at the Series.

Florida (48-23), which was making its first appearance in the championship round, couldn’t get its offense going until it was down 6-0.


Reliever J. Brent Cox got the final five outs, the clincher a strikeout, and the Texas players raced to the field and piled on one another in celebration.

Texas’ six titles are second to USC, which has 12. The Longhorns have made more Series appearances (32) and won more games there (78) than any other school.

The Longhorns last won the championship in 2002 and were runners-up a year ago to Cal State Fullerton.

As Coach Augie Garrido said before the 2005 event began, the Longhorns are expected to play in Omaha every year. This year’s appearance was the team’s fourth in a row at Rosenblatt Stadium.

The Longhorns’ crown is their second under Garrido, 66, who previously led Fullerton to three titles.

Maroul, who was three for four with four runs batted in Sunday, was named the Series’ outstanding player.


McCulloch (12-4), a 6-3 sophomore right-hander, struck out eight, walked one and gave up five hits Sunday, including a two-run homer to Brian Leclerc in the seventh. Randy Boone got the third out of the inning with two runners on.

Florida put runners on first and third in the eighth off Boone before closer Cox -- who appeared in all five of the Longhorns’ games -- got out of the jam.

Cox walked a hitter in the ninth. But after a double play, he struck out Stephen Barton and fell to his knee on the mound, waiting for his celebrating teammates.

McCulloch held the Gators hitless the first four innings before Brandon McArthur beat out an infield hit to start the fifth.

Wheeless, who had hit a game-winning homer against Baylor earlier in the Series, connected on a solo shot in the bottom of the sixth to put the Longhorns ahead 3-0 and drive out Florida starter Bryan Ball (7-6).

Taylor Teagarden doubled off reliever Connor Falkenbach and after a walk, Maroul delivered a three-run homer to left center to put the Longhorns ahead 6-0.




CWS champions

College World Series winners since 1985:

*--* * 2005: Texas 6*, Florida 2 * 2004: Fullerton 3*, Texas 2 * 2003: Rice 14, Stanford 2** * 2002: Texas 12, South Carolina 6 * 2001: Miami 12, Stanford 1 * 2000: Louisiana State 6, Stanford 5 * 1999: Miami 6, Florida State 5 * 1998: USC 21, Arizona State 14 * 1997: Louisiana State 13, Alabama 6 * 1996: Louisiana State 9, Miami 8 * 1995: Fullerton 11, USC 5 * 1994: Oklahoma 13, Georgia Tech 5 * 1993: Louisiana State 8, Wichita State 0 * 1992: Pepperdine 3, Fullerton 2 * 1991: Louisiana State 6, Wichita State 3 * 1990: Georgia 2, Oklahoma State 1 * 1989: Wichita State 5, Texas 3 * 1988: Stanford 9, Arizona State 4 * 1987: Stanford 9, Oklahoma State 5 * 1986: Arizona 10, Florida State 2 * 1985: Miami 10, Texas 6


* -- Won championship series in two games;

** -- Won championship series in three games.