Foundation honors six female writers

From Associated Press

Four fiction writers and two poets will each receive $10,000 from the Rona Jaffe Foundation, which gives out annual awards to emerging female writers.

This year’s winners are poets Nan Cohen and Averill Curdy, and fiction writers Rebecca Curtis, Frances Hwang, Aryn Kyle and Asali Solomon.

“Every year I am impressed with the remarkably fresh talents of our award winners and their determination to be writers under often challenging circumstances,” Jaffe said in a statement. “All writers need support, but many women in early career have fewer resources available to them and often many demands made upon them.”

Jaffe, author of the bestselling “Best of Everything,” established the awards in 1995.


Previous winners include such well-regarded writers as ZZ Packer and Lan Samantha Chang.