Bryant is on his 11th All-NBA first team

Kobe Bryant was named to his 11th All-NBA first team Thursday, joining LeBron James, Kevin Durant, Tim Duncan and Chris Paul for the 2012-13 season.

With the honor, Bryant joins Karl Malone with the most first-team selections in league history. The Lakers guard was previously tied at 10 with Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Jerry West, Elgin Baylor, Michael Jordan, Bob Cousy and Bob Pettit.

This was Bryant’s eighth straight selection to the first team. Voting was done by a panel of 119 sportswriters and broadcasters.

James led with 595 points, followed by Durant with 555. Clippers point guard Paul had 537 points, ahead of Bryant’s 521. Duncan rounded out the first team with 392 points.

Clippers forward Blake Griffin, Carmelo Anthony, Tony Parker, Russell Westbrook and Marc Gasol were named to the second team.


Lakers center Dwight Howard was named to the third team (with 203 points) along with James Harden, Dwyane Wade, David Lee and Paul George.





Teams were chosen by a panel of 119 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Voting on a 5-3-1 basis; first-team votes in parentheses:

*--* P FIRST TEAM POINTS F LeBron James, Miami (119) 595 F Kevin Durant, OKC (102) 555 C Tim Duncan, San Ant. (45) 392 G Kobe Bryant, LAKERS (91) 521 G Chris Paul, CLIPPERS (97) 537 P SECOND TEAM POINTS F Carmelo Anthony, N.Y. (24) 397 F Blake Griffin, CLIPPERS 132 C Marc Gasol, Memphis (38) 295 G Tony Parker, San Antonio (16) 273 G Russell Westbrook, OKC (20) 306 P THIRD TEAM POINTS F David Lee, Golden State 79 F Paul George, Indiana 73 C Dwight Howard, LAKERS (17) 203 G Dwyane Wade, Miami (3) 145 G James Harden, Houston (5) 253 *--*

Other players receiving votes: Brook Lopez, Brooklyn, (7) 132; Stephen Curry, Golden State, 72; LaMarcus Aldridge, Portland, 62; Chris Bosh, Miami, (4) 59; Joakim Noah, Chicago, (3) 56; Zach Randolph, Memphis, 45; Al Horford, Atlanta, (2) 31; Paul Pierce, Boston, 24; Al Jefferson, Utah, (1) 20; Tyson Chandler, New York, (1) 19; Roy Hibbert, Indiana, 9; Luol Deng, Chicago, 8; Kevin Garnett, Boston, 8; Ty Lawson, Denver, 8; Josh Smith, Atlanta, 7; Deron Williams, Brooklyn, 6; Pau Gasol, LA Lakers, 4; Serge Ibaka, Oklahoma City, 4; Omer Asik, Houston, 3; Kenneth Faried, Denver, 3; Raymond Felton, New York, 3; Kyrie Irving, Cleveland, 3; Carlos Boozer, Chicago, 2; Mike Conley, Memphis, 2; David West, Indiana, 2; Rudy Gay, Toronto, 1; J.J. Hickson, Portland, 1; Andre Iguodala, Denver, 1; Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas, 1; Nikola Pekovic, Minnesota, 1; Rajon Rondo, Boston, 1; Nikola Vucevic, Orlando, 1.