Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle hands out 2013 awards


The Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle handed out its annual awards at a ceremony Monday evening held at the Colony Theatre in Burbank. As is customary with the group, each category featured multiple winners.

Hosted by “MADtv” veteran Nicole Parker, the event honored four individual shows as the best productions of 2013: “One Night in Miami...” from Rogue Machine Theatre; “Our Class,” from Son of Semele; “The Scottsboro Boys,” from Center Theatre Group; and “Walking the Tightrope,” from the 24th Street Theatre.

The award for best revival was given to two productions: “Dreamgirls,” from the DOMA Theatre Co., and “The Normal Heart,” from the Fountain Theatre. Playwright Jennifer Haley received the award for writing for her play “The Nether,” produced by Center Theatre Group at the Kirk Douglas Theatre.


PHOTOS: Arts and culture in pictures by The Times

Lead-performance awards were handed out to Tim Cummings for “The Normal Heart,” Mary Bridget Davies for “One Night with Janis Joplin,” Constance Jewell Lopez for “Dreamgirls” and Paige Lindsey White for “Walking the Tightrope.”

Among the special awards of the evening were honors for L.A. Theatre Works for sustained excellence, and the Actors Co-op for an excellent season in a small to mid-size theater.

Last year’s winners for best production were “The Book of Mormon” at the Pantages Theatre; “Cyrano” at the Fountain Theatre; “Justin Love” at the Celebration Theatre; and the national tour of “War Horse” at the Ahmanson Theatre.

The L.A. Drama Critics Circle has published the full list of 2013 winners on its official site. The organization is comprised of theater reviewers from various local publications, including Margaret Gray and David C. Nichols, who write for The Times.


Janis Joplin lives on as musical transfers off-Broadway

Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle announces 2013 nominations

Review: Barry Manilow’s ‘Harmony’ musical can sing but needs work