Stars turn out for Costume Designers Guild Awards

Hosted by Joel McHale with an all-star list of presenters that included Steve Martin, Shirley MacLaine and Russell Crowe, the 15th Costume Designers Guild Awards were handed out Tuesday evening in the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton.

In addition to recognizing costume designers Eduardo Castro (“Once Upon a Time,” “Ugly Betty”) and Judianna Makovsky (“The Hunger Games,” “Seabiscuit,” “Big”) for their career achievements in the fields of television and film, respectively, “Saturday Night Live’s” Lorne Michaels received a Distinguished Collaborator Award -- and no small amount of humorous ribbing from Martin whose observations as presenter included that “a trophy is better than a plaque because everybody in this town wants a trophy wife -- no one wants a plaque wife.”

The evening’s award winners included:

Outstanding period/fantasy TV series

Caroline McCall for “Downton Abbey”

Outstanding made-for-television movie or miniseries

Lou Eyrich for “American Horror Story: Asylum, Season 2"

Outstanding contemporary TV series


Molly Maginnis for “Smash”

Excellence in commercial costume design

Judianna Makovsky for “Captain Morgan Black”

Excellence in contemporary film

Jany Temime for “Skyfall”

Excellence in fantasy film

Eiko Ishioka for “Mirror Mirror”

Ishioka, who won an Oscar for 1992’s “Dracula,” died in January 2012 from pancreatic cancer. She is also a nominee for an Academy Award this weekend for her work on “Mirror Mirror.”

Excellence in period film

Jacqueline Durran for “Anna Karenina” (another costume designer nominated for an Oscar this weekend).

The final award of the night, the Lacoste Spotlight Award, was presented to Anne Hathaway by her “Les Miserables” co-star Russell Crowe.


Celebrities turn out to 14th annual CDGAs

‘Dragon Tattoo,’ ‘W.E.’ among winners at 14 annual CDGAs

Fairy tales, period pieces dominate Oscar costume nominations