Cheryl Boone Isaacs reelected as president of the motion picture academy

Cheryl Boone Isaacs announces the nominations for the 87th Academy Awards from Beverly Hills on Thursday, January 15, 2015.
(Al Seib/)

Cheryl Boone Isaacs has been reelected to a fourth term as president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Boone Isaacs, a veteran Hollywood marketer, was reelected Tuesday night by the organization’s 54-member board of governors.

The first African American president of one of Hollywood’s most vaunted institutions, Boone Isaacs has steered the academy through a period of transition and sometimes turbulence, as the nearly 90-year-old organization has instituted sweeping changes aimed at diversifying the ranks of its membership in the wake of the #OscarsSoWhite controversy.

Though the academy’s handling of the diversity issue has itself been met with some controversy among some rank-and-file members, Boone Isaacs’ reelection was widely expected. Due to term limits, she will not be eligible for reelection next year.


Having set a goal of doubling the number of women and minorities in the overwhelmingly white and male organization by 2020, the academy invited 683 new members into its ranks in June, an unprecedentedly large and diverse group that was 46% female and 41% people of color.

“There’s a newness and a vibrancy about this issue of inclusion,” Boone Isaacs told The Times in an interview after the announcement. “This industry has been changing, evolving, expanding in many different areas. And we have led the way.”

In addition to Boone Isaacs, Jeffrey Kurland was reelected first vice president; John Bailey and Kathleen Kennedy were reelected vice presidents; Nancy Utley was elected to a vice president post; Jim Gianopulos was reelected treasurer; and David Rubin was elected secretary.

Along with furthering the academy’s diversity push, Boone Isaacs and the academy’s board will be tasked with selecting producers for the 2017 Oscars telecast and overseeing planning for a new Academy Museum scheduled to open next year.



Film academy makes dramatic rule changes to address diversity

Steven Spielberg and Laura Dern among those joining motion picture academy’s Board of Governors


How the motion picture academy moved the needle on its diversity push: We crunch the numbers