Academy’s shortlist of 15 for documentary Oscar includes ‘O.J.: Made in America,’ ‘Weiner,’ ‘13th’

Ava DuVernay’s ‘13th’
Angela Davis in Ava DuVernay’s documentary “13th.”

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced on Tuesday the 15 feature documentaries that will continue to compete for the Oscar. The list was narrowed down from an initial field of 145 submitted films and should make for one of the strongest and most competitive doc races in recent memory.

In alphabetical order, the films are:


“Command and Control”


“The Eagle Huntress”

“Fire at Sea”


“Hooligan Sparrow”


“I Am Not Your Negro”

“The Ivory Game”

“Life, Animated”

“O.J.: Made in America”




“The Witness”


“Zero Days”

The shortlist was determined in a preliminary round of voting by the academy’s documentary branch. The doc branch will also now select the final five nominees from among the shortlisted titles.

Nominations for the 89th Oscars are scheduled to be announced on Jan. 24. The Oscars are set for Feb. 26.

SIGN UP for the free Indie Focus movies newsletter »

Twitter: @IndieFocus


Sundance Film festival 2017 announces Premieres, Documentary Premieres, Midnight and more


Sundance Film Festival 2017 likely to feel more political, on purpose or not

‘Moonlight’ beats ‘La La Land’ in L.A. film Critics awards

Only good movies

Get the Indie Focus newsletter, Mark Olsen's weekly guide to the world of cinema.

You may occasionally receive promotional content from the Los Angeles Times.