Academy Awards 2015: Complete list of Oscar nominees and winners

Share via

“Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)” won the Oscar for best picture at the 87th Academy Awards.

“Birdman” was one of the top winners of the night, also winning for director, original screenplay and cinematography.

Eddie Redmayne won the lead actor award for “The Theory of Everything,” and the lead actress Oscar went to Julianne Moore for “Still Alice.” Patricia Arquette and J.K. Simmons won for supporting actress and supporting actor.


FULL COVERAGE: Oscars 2015 | Top nominees | Red carpet blog | Live updates | Show highlights

The other top winning films were “The Grand Budapest Hotel” with four wins and “Whiplash” with three.

The 87th Academy Awards were presented at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood. Neil Patrick Harris hosted the telecast.

Below is the complete list of nominees and winners.

Best Film

“American Sniper” | Review
WINNER: “Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)” | Review
“Boyhood” | Review
“The Grand Budapest Hotel” | Review
“The Imitation Game” | Review
“Selma” | Review
“The Theory of Everything” | Review
“Whiplash” | Review

Watch exclusive video interviews with the cast and crew of “Birdman,” “Boyhood,” “The Theory of Everything” and “Whiplash.”


Lead actress

Marion Cotillard, “Two Days, One Night”
Felicity Jones, “The Theory of Everything”
WINNER: Julianne Moore, “Still Alice”
Rosamund Pike, “Gone Girl”
Reese Witherspoon, “Wild”

Watch an exclusive interview with Felicity Jones.

Lead actor

Steve Carell, “Foxcatcher”
Bradley Cooper, “American Sniper”
Benedict Cumberbatch, “The Imitation Game”
Michael Keaton, “Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)”
WINNER: Eddie Redmayne, “The Theory of Everything”

Watch exclusive interviews with Steve Carell, Benedict Cumberbatch, Michael Keaton and Eddie Redmayne



WINNER: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, “Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)”
Richard Linklater, “Boyhood”
Bennett Miller, “Foxcatcher”
Wes Anderson, “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Morten Tyldum, “The Imitation Game”

Watch exclusive interviews with Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Richard Linklater and Bennett Miller.

Supporting actress

WINNER: Patricia Arquette, “Boyhood”
Laura Dern, “Wild”
Keira Knightley, “The Imitation Game”
Emma Stone, “Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)”
Meryl Streep, “Into The Woods”

Watch exclusive interviews with Patricia Arquette, Laura Dern and Emma Stone.

Supporting actor

Robert Duvall, “The Judge
Ethan Hawke, “Boyhood”
Edward Norton, “Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)”
Mark Ruffalo, “Foxcatcher”
WINNER: J.K. Simmons, “Whiplash”

Watch exclusive interviews with Edward Norton, Mark Ruffalo and J.K. Simmons.


Animated feature film

WINNER: “Big Hero 6” | Review
The Boxtrolls” | Review
“How To Train Your Dragon 2” | Review
“Song of the Sea” | Review
“The Tale of the Princess Kaguya” | Review

Watch exclusive interviews with the makers of “Big Hero 6” and “The Boxtrolls.”

Documentary feature

WINNER: “CitizenFour”
“Finding Vivian Maier”
“Last Days in Vietnam”
“The Salt of the Earth”

Documentary short subject

WINNER: “Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1”
“Our Curse”
“The Reaper (La Parka)”
“White Earth”

Foreign language film


WINNER: “Ida” (Poland)
“Leviathan” (Russia)
“Tangerines” (Estonia)
“Timbuktu” (Mauritania)
“Wild Tales” (Argentina)

Adapted screenplay

Jason Hall, “American Sniper”
WINNER: Graham Moore, “The Imitation Game”
Paul Thomas Anderson, “Inherent Vice”
Anthony McCarten, “The Theory of Everything”
Damien Chazelle, “Whiplash”

Original screenplay

WINNER: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris Jr. and Armando Bo, “Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)”
Richard Linklater, “Boyhood”
E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman, “Foxcatcher”
Wes Anderson (screenplay), Wes Anderson and Hugo Guinness (story), “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Dan Gilroy, “Nightcrawler”

Animated short film

“The Bigger Picture”
“The Dam Keeper”
WINNER: “Feast”
“Me and My Moulton”
“A Single Life”

Live action short film

“Boogaloo and Graham”
“Butter Lamp (La Lampe au Beurre de Yak)”
WINNER: “The Phone Call”

Makeup and hairstyling


“Foxcatcher,” Bill Corso and Dennis Liddiard
WINNER: “The Grand Budapest Hotel,” Frances Hannon and Mark Coulier
“Guardians of the Galaxy,” Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou and David White

Original score

WINNER: “The Grand Budapest Hotel,” Alexandre Desplat
“The Imitation Game,” Alexandre Desplat
“Interstellar,” Hans Zimmer
“Mr. Turner,” Gary Yershon
“The Theory of Everything,” Jóhann Jóhannsson

Original song

“Everything Is Awesome” in “The Lego Movie”
WINNER: “Glory” in “Selma”
“Grateful” in “Beyond the Lights”
“I’m Not Gonna Miss You” in “Glen Campbell ... I’ll Be Me”
“Lost Stars” in “Begin Again”


WINNER: “Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance),” Emmanuel Lubezki
“The Grand Budapest Hotel,” Robert Yeoman
“Ida,” Lukasz Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski
“Mr. Turner,” Dick Pope
“Unbroken,” Roger Deakins

Costume design

WINNER: “The Grand Budapest Hotel,” Milena Canonero
“Inherent Vice,” Mark Bridges
“Into the Woods,” Colleen Atwood
“Maleficent,” Anna B. Sheppard
“Mr. Turner,” Jacqueline Durran

Oscars 2015: Video: Hollywood Sessions | Full coverage

Film editing


“American Sniper,” Joel Cox and Gary D. Roach
“Boyhood,” Sandra Adair
“The Grand Budapest Hotel,” Barney Pilling
“The Imitation Game,” William Goldenberg
WINNER: “Whiplash,” Tom Cross

Sound mixing

“American Sniper,” John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Walt Martin
“Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance),” Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and Thomas Varga
“Interstellar,” Gary A. Rizzo, Gregg Landaker and Mark Weingarten
“Unbroken,” Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and David Lee
WINNER: “Whiplash,” Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins and Thomas Curley

Sound editing

WINNER: “American Sniper,” Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman
“Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance),” Martín Hernández and Aaron Glascock
“The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies,” Brent Burge and Jason Canovas
“Interstellar,” Richard King
“Unbroken,” Becky Sullivan and Andrew DeCristofaro

Production design

WINNER: “The Grand Budapest Hotel,” Adam Stockhausen (production design) and Anna Pinnock (set decoration)
“The Imitation Game,” Maria Djurkovic (production design) and Tatiana Macdonald (set decoration)
“Interstellar,” Nathan Crowley (production design) and Gary Fettis (set decoration)
“Into the Woods,” Dennis Gassner (production design) and Anna Pinnock (set decoration)
“Mr. Turner,” Suzie Davies (production design) and Charlotte Watts (set decoration)

Visual effects

“Captain America: The Winter Soldier,” Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Bryan Grill and Dan Sudick
“Dawn of the Planet of the Apes,” Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett and Erik Winquist
“Guardians of the Galaxy,” Stephane Ceretti, Nicolas Aithadi, Jonathan Fawkner and Paul Corbould
WINNER: “Interstellar,” Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Ian Hunter and Scott Fisher
“X-Men: Days of Future Past,” Richard Stammers, Lou Pecora, Tim Crosbie and Cameron Waldbauer