‘Spotlight’ wins Critics’ Choice Award for outstanding film of 2015

Michael Keaton Liev Schreiber Mark Ruffalo Rachel McAdams John Slattery Brian díArcy James

The cast of “Spotlight": Michael Keaton, left,  Liev Schreiber, Mark Ruffalo, Rachel McAdams, John Slattery and Brian d’Arcy James

(Kerry Hayes / Associated Press )

“Spotlight” won the top film prize Sunday at the 21st Critics’ Choice Awards, presented by the Broadcast Film Critics Assn. and the Broadcast Television Journalists Assn.

Leonardo DiCaprio won lead actor for “The Revenant” while Brie Larson won lead actress for “Room.”

“The Big Short” won for best comedy film. Its other wins in the comedy division included  lead actor (Christian Bale) and adapted screenplay (Charles Randolph and Adam McKay).

Amy Schumer won for lead actress in a comedy for “Trainwreck.” Schumer was also presented with the MVP Award, and was greeted with a standing ovation as she accepted the honor from “Trainwreck” director Judd Apatow.


The cast of “Spotlight,” the acclaimed film about journalists at the Boston Globe investigating allegations of child sex abuse in the Catholic Church, was also honored for acting ensemble. In accepting the award, costar Rachel McAdams paid tribute to the reporters and editors portrayed in the film, calling them “the real-life heroes of ‘Spotlight.’”

The film also won for original screenplay (Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy).

“Mad Max: Fury Road” made a solid showing in the action division, winning for movie, actress Charlize Theron, actor Tom Hardy, director George Miller, production design, editing, hair and makeup and visual effects.

“Ex Machina” was named best sci-fi-horror movie. The film’s star, Alicia Vikander, called the movie “the best experience I’ve had.” It was a big night for Vikander, who also won supporting actress for “The Danish Girl.”


Sylvester Stallone won supporting actor for reprising his Rocky Balboa character in “Creed.” The actor, who received a standing ovation as he took the stage, thanked the film’s co-writer and director, Ryan Coogler (“You made it all special”), and star Michael B. Jordan (“You’re a special talent”).

Jacob Tremblay, the 9-year-old star of “Room,” won for  young actor in a movie. “This is super cool,” said Tremblay. “I want to thank my parents and I love them very much.” He added that he was going to put the award “next to my Millennium Falcon.""

“Son of Saul” won best foreign film, while the best animated film award went to “Inside Out.” “Amy,” about the late singer Amy Winehouse, won for best documentary.

The Times’ Steve Zeitchik and Gold Standard columnist Glenn Whipp discuss the Oscar snubs, surprises and front-runners.

“See You Again,” the touching ballad dedicated to Paul Walker, the late star of “Furious 7,” won for best song.

“Star Wars: The Force Awakens” director J.J. Abrams presented the Genius Award to Industrial Light & Magic. The film’s robot BB-8 got a huge ovation.

On the TV front, “Mr. Robot” built on its Golden Globes momentum, winning for best drama, actor Rami Malek and supporting actor Christian Slater.

Carrie Coon won lead actress in a drama for “The Leftovers.” Constance Zimmer won supporting actress in a drama for “UnReal.” Margo Martindale won for guest actress in a drama for “The Good Wife.”


In the TV comedy categories, “Master of None” won for best series. Jeffrey Tambor won lead actor for “Transparent,” while Rachel Bloom won lead  actress for “Crazy Ex-Girlfriend.”

Andre Braugher won for supporting actor for “Brooklyn Nine-Nine,” while Mayim Bialik won supporting actress for “The Big Bang Theory.” Timothy Olyphant won guest actor in a comedy for “The Grinder.”

FX’s “Fargo” was a big winner in the category for movie or limited series made for TV, winning for best movie,  actress Kirsten Dunst, supporting actor Jesse Plemons and supporting actress Jean Smart.

Idris Elba won for actor in a TV movie or limited series for his role in “Luther.”

Best animated series went to “Bojack Horseman”

In the reality show category, “The Voice” scored its third Critics’ Choice award for best reality series. “Shark Tank” won for best structured reality show while “Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown” won for best unstructured reality show. James Lipton of “Inside the Actors Studio” won for reality show host.

“Last Week Tonight With John Oliver” won for best talk show.

The fan-voted Most Bingeworthy Show Award went to “Outlander.”


 The awards were presented at the Barker Hangar in Santa Monica and aired live on A&E, Lifetime and LMN. Actor-comedian T.J. Miller was the host.