‘Homeland’ and ‘Community’ win at Critics’ Choice TV Awards

Share via

The Showtime political thriller “Homeland” and NBC’s cult hit “Community” were the top winners at the Critics’ Choice Television Awards on Monday night. “Homeland” took home the award for best drama series and “Community” won best comedy series.

Top acting awards went to Bryan Cranston for best actor in a drama series for “Breaking Bad,” Claire Danes for best actress in a drama series for “Homeland,” Louis C.K. for best actor in a comedy series for “Louie,” and a tie in the best actress in a comedy series category with Amy Poehler in “Parks and Recreation” and Zooey Deschanel in “New Girl” both picking up awards.

Perhaps the strangest award of the night was for most exciting new series, with awards going to “The Following,” “The Mindy Project,” “Nashville,” “The Newsroom” and “Political Animals.” Performers from each of the series, including Mindy Kaling and Hayden Panettiere, were on hand to accept the award for their shows, which haven’t premiered yet. “The Following,” the series furthest away from its premiere date, doesn’t begin airing until early next year.


PHOTOS: Second Critics’ Choice Television Awards

Awards for “Community,” “Parks and Recreation” and “The Voice” and “Late Night With Jimmy Fallon” made NBC the most honored network, with five wins. AMC and ABC followed with three wins apiece.

The awards were handed out in a ceremony at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. There were determined by the members of the Broadcast Television Journalists Assn., an offshoot of the Broadcast Film Critics Assn.

The full list of winners:

Best drama series -- “Homeland,” Showtime

Best actor in a drama series -- Bryan Cranston, “Breaking Bad,” AMC

Best actress in a drama series -- Claire Danes, “Homeland,” Showtime

Best supporting actor in a drama series -- Giancarlo Esposito, “Breaking Bad,” AMC

Best supporting actress in a drama series -- Christina Hendricks, “Mad Men,” AMC

Best guest performer in a drama series -- Lucy Liu, “Southland,” TNT

Best reality series -- “Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations,” Travel Channel

Best reality series competition -- “The Voice,” NBC

Best reality show host -- (tie) Tom Bergeron, “Dancing With the Stars,” ABC; Cat Deeley, “So You Think You Can Dance,” Fox

Best talk show -- “Late Night With Jimmy Fallon,” NBC

Best comedy series -- “Community,” NBC

Best actor in a comedy series -- Louis C.K., “Louie,” FX

Best actress in a comedy series -- (tie) Zooey Deschanel, “New Girl,” Fox; Amy Poehler, “Parks and Recreation,” NBC

Best supporting actor in a comedy series -- Ty Burrell,”Modern Family,” ABC

Best supporting actress in a comedy -- Julie Bowen, “Modern Family,” ABC

Best guest performer in a comedy series -- Paul Rudd, “Parks and Recreation,” NBC

Best animated series --”Archer,”FX

Best movie/miniseries -- “Sherlock,”PBS

Best actor in a movie/miniseries -- Benedict Cumberbatch, “Sherlock,” PBS

Best actress in a movie/miniseries -- Julianne Moore, “Game Change,” HBO

Most exciting new series -- “The Following,” Fox/Warner Bros.; “The Mindy Project,” Fox/Universal; “Nashville,” ABC/Lionsgate; “The Newsroom,” HBO; “Political Animals,” USA/Warner Bros.



PHOTOS: Behind the scenes and the Emmys Round Table

‘The Killing’: Rosie Larson’s killer speaks

VIDEO: Watch the latest fall TV trailers here