NBC announces huge guest list for ‘SNL40’


“Saturday Night Live” plans to celebrate its 40th anniversary this month, with NBC confirming a long list of participants during the Super Bowl. The massive reunion special will air on Feb. 15.

The biggest surprise is Eddie Murphy’s planned attendance. Murphy confirmed his intention to go to the reunion to NewsOne Now last week. Murphy got his start on the show as a teenager but hasn’t returned since he left in 1984. He didn’t attend the show’s last big reunion show in 1999.

In addition to Murphy, the reunion show will feature former cast members Jimmy Fallon, Chevy Chase, Adam Sandler, Will Ferrell, Tina Fey, Molly Shannon, Mike Myers, Amy Poehler, Dana Carvey, Kristen Wiig, Dan Aykroyd, Chris Rock, Garrett Morris, Andy Samberg, Maya Rudolph, Martin Short, Bill Murray, Bill Hader, Jane Curtin, Laraine Newman, Seth Meyers, Jason Sudeikis, David Spade, Fred Armisen and Norm Macdonald.


Other guests will include past hosts and musical guests including Justin Timberlake, Emma Stone, Derek Jeter, Paul McCartney, Kanye West, Melissa McCarthy, Robert De Niro, Paul Simon, Jerry Seinfeld, Steve Martin, Jack Nicholson, Jim Carrey, Peyton Manning, Alec Baldwin, Taylor Swift, Christopher Walken, Tom Hanks, Betty White, Jon Hamm, Zach Galifianakis, Paul Rudd, Kerry Washington and James Franco.

Not surprisingly, the special will be three hours long, with a live one-hour red carpet special beforehand hosted by the “Today” team of Matt Lauer, Savannah Guthrie, Al Roker and Carson Daly.

Clear your calendar now.

Follow me on Twitter: @patrickkevinday