USC’s Darnold is first team All-Pac-12 Conference quarterback, but Trojans are shut out of major awards

Quarterback Sam Darnold leads a contingent of seven USC players on the All-Pac-12 Conference first team.
(Young Kwak / Associated Press)

USC is the Pac-12 Conference football champion, but it didn’t have a player or coach of the year on the all-conference team.

The Trojans had a league-high seven players on the first team, announced Tuesday, but were shut out of the major awards.

David Shaw of Stanford was coach of the year; running back Bryce Love of Stanford was offensive player of the year; and lineman Vita Vea of Washington was defensive player of the year in a vote of conference coaches.


USC players on the first team were quarterback Sam Darnold, running back Ronald Jones II, defensive lineman Rasheem Green, linebackers Uchenna Nwosu and Cameron Smith, safety Marvell Tell III and special-teams player Michael Pittman Jr.

Linebacker Kenny Young was UCLA’s only first-team player. Bruins quarterback Josh Rosen, who was third in the nation in passing yardage per game, was selected to the second team.

First-team offense

QB: Sam Darnold, USC.

RB: Ronald Jones II, USC; Bryce Love, Stanford.

WR: N’Keal Harry, Arizona State; Dante Pettis, Washington.

TE: Dalton Schultz, Stanford.

OL: Tyrell Crosby, Oregon; Nate Herbig, Stanford; Kaleb McGary, Washington; Cody O’Connell, Washington State; Coleman Shelton, Washington.

First-team defense

DL: Rasheem Green, USC; Hercules Mata’afa, Washington State; Harrison Phillips, Stanford; Vita Vea, Washington.


LB: Uchenna Nwosu, USC; Cameron Smith, USC; Kenny Young, UCLA.

DB: Isaiah Oliver, Colorado; Taylor Rapp, Washington; Justin Reid, Stanford; Marvell Tell III, USC.


PK: Matt Gay, Utah.

P: Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah.

RS: Dante Pettis, Washington.

AP/ST: Brenden Schooler, Oregon; Michael Pittman Jr., USC.

Twitter: @MikeHiserman


4:38 p.m.: This article was updated with major award winners.

This article was originally published at 2:15 p.m.