Pop & Hiss

Pop & Hiss The L.A. Times music blog
Chester Bennington of Linkin Park dies at 41

Chester Bennington, the lead singer of the Los Angeles hard rock band Linkin Park, led the sextet to become one of the biggest acts of the 2000s, its mix of guitars and hip-hop defining the ensuing years in rock.

The act’s debut, “Hybrid Theory,” reportedly sold more than 10 million copies in the U.S. alone.

Read more
Ella Fitzgerald is easy to love — but harder to honor — at the Hollywood Bowl

Maybe the third time will be the charm?

In 2014, the Hollywood Bowl presented a concert tribute to the late, great Ella Fitzgerald that had its heart — but not its mind — in the right place.

Read more
At FYF Fest and elsewhere, hip-hop embraces middle age

At last month’s BET Awards, rapper and Internet talk-show host Joe Budden got into a highly publicized tiff with the members of Migos after he walked out of his own red-carpet interview with that Atlanta hip-hop trio.

Read more
FYF Fest's diverse lineup reflects music’s many faces

At the head of the bill, FYF Fest’s lineup is plainly its most diverse yet.

Out of the four acts at the top, there are two women, two African Americans and, in Frank Ocean, one romantically ambiguous singer who makes a refusal to define himself a part of his art.

Read more
FYF Fest day-by-day guide: The 15 must-see acts
Will Classic West become L.A.'s new boomer rock festival?

When Live Nation’s Classic West lineup was announced in March, the obvious comparison was to Goldenvoice’s Desert Trip, held last October in Indio. It was yet another weekend-long bill of classic-rock titans, geared toward moneyed boomers (and their offspring) who would clearly pony up to relive their festival glory days in more comfortable confines.

Read more
EDITION: California | U.S. & World