Jeff Gordon wins NASCAR's Brickyard 400 for record fifth time

Jeff Gordon wins NASCAR's Brickyard 400 and earns right to kiss the bricks for a record fifth time

Jeff Gordon won NASCAR's Brickyard 400 on Sunday, becoming the first five-time winner of the race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

"It's unbelievable!" Gordon, 42, screamed over his team radio after he crossed the finish line about 1.5 seconds ahead of second-place Kyle Busch.

His victory came 20 years after the inaugural Brickyard 400 in 1994, which Gordon also won, when he was 22. He took first place again in 1998, 2001 and 2004.

"I don't think there's a greater feeling as a race-car driver" than winning at Indy, Gordon told a television audience.

Gordon's victory in the No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet also marked the 12th consecutive year that a Chevrolet driver has won the race.

Denny Hamlin and Matt Kenseth, Busch's teammates at Joe Gibbs Racing, finished third and fourth, respectively. Joey Logano was fifth and Gordon's teammate Kasey Kahne was sixth.

Kahne was leading, and Gordon was second, when the field had its final restart with 17 laps left in the 160-lap race. Gordon quickly passed Kahne on the outside and never let Kahne close again.

"I made the restart of my life today," Gordon said.

Follow @PeltzLATimes for more motor racing news

Copyright © 2018, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World