Times Staff Writer

A parade of last year's winners marched to the podium again Thursday at the 13th annual Daytime Emmy Awards, led by "The Young and the Restless" as the best soap opera.

Other 1985 Emmy winners that also became 1986 winners were "Sesame Street" as best children's series, Dick Clark as best game show host for "The $25,000 Pyramid," Phil Donahue as best talk show host for "Donahue," and, for the fourth year in a row, "The $25,000 Pyramid" as best game show.

And, also like last year, CBS was the big winner among the networks.

In Thursday's ceremonies at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York, broadcast nationally on NBC, CBS picked up seven of the 14 Emmys, ABC collected three, NBC got two, and PBS and syndicated programs received one apiece.

Coupled with the Daytime Emmys given out last Sunday in nontelevised ceremonies here--covering mostly craft categories--CBS wound up with 20 statuettes, while ABC had 10, NBC six, PBS eight, and syndication three.

In addition to being named best soap opera for the second year in a row, "The Young and the Restless" also won Emmys for writing, directing, editing and sound. No other soap got more than two.

But none of the stars of "The Young and the Restless" was honored Thursday. The six acting Emmys were spread over five other shows.

Erika Slezak, who plays Victoria Lord Buchanan on ABC's "One Life to Live," was named best lead actress in a drama series. It was her second such honor, having won in the same category in 1984.

David Canary, who plays the dual role of Adam and Stuart Chandler on ABC's "All My Children," was named best lead actor, and one of his co-stars on that series, Michael E. Knight, who plays Tad Martin, won as best younger leading man.

The Emmys for supporting actors went to Leann Hunley, who plays Anna DiMera on NBC's "Days of Our Lives," and John Wesley Shipp, who portrays Douglas Cummings on CBS' "As the World Turns."

Ellen Wheeler, who has the dual role of Marley and Victoria Love on NBC's "Another World," was honored as best ingenue.

The award for best children's special went to "The War Between the Classes," a "CBS Schoolbreak Special" that was something of a surprise winner. One of the other nominated programs, CBS' "Babies Having Babies," had won four Emmys last Sunday, including those for writing and directing in a children's program.

Someone who won both Sunday and Thursday was Donahue. In addition to being named best talk show host, his syndicated series had earlier been named best talk show.

Except for 1984, either Donahue or the show, or both, has won an Emmy every year since 1978.

For "Sesame Street," it was the eighth time that the program was named best children's series. The acclaimed PBS show also won Emmys this year for writing, art direction and costume design.

The awards, covering the period between March 6, 1985, and March 5, 1986, were presented jointly by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences and the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

Awards for prime time programming will be presented on a Sept. 21 telecast.

Here are Thursday's Daytime Emmy winners:

DRAMA SERIES: "The Young and the Restless," CBS.


CHILDREN'S SERIES: "Sesame Street," PBS.

CHILDREN'S SPECIAL: "CBS Schoolbreak: The War Between the Classes."

LEAD ACTRESS, DRAMA SERIES: Erika Slezak (Victoria Lord Buchanan), "One Life to Live," ABC.

LEAD ACTOR, DRAMA SERIES: David Canary (Adam/Stuart Chandler), "All My Children," ABC.

SUPPORTING ACTRESS, DRAMA SERIES: Leann Hunley (Anna Di Mera), "Days of Our Lives," NBC.

SUPPORTING ACTOR, DRAMA SERIES: John Wesley Shipp (Douglas Cummings), "As the World Turns," CBS.

INGENUE, DRAMA SERIES: Ellen Wheeler (Marley/Victoria Love), "Another World," NBC.

YOUNG LEADING MAN, DRAMA SERIES: Michael E. Knight (Tad Martin), "All My Children." ABC.

GAME SHOW HOST: Dick Clark, "The $25,000 Pyramid," CBS.

TALK/SERVICE SHOW HOST: Phil Donahue, "Donahue," syn.

DRAMA SERIES DIRECTING TEAM: Dennis Steinmetz, Rudy Vejar, Frank Pacelli, Randy Robbins, Betty Rothenberg, "The Young and the Restless," CBS.

DRAMA SERIES WRITING TEAM: William J. Bell, Kay Alden, John F. Smith, Sally Sussman, Eric Freiwald, John Randall Holland, Meg Bennett, Enid Powell, "The Young and the Restless," CBS.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World