Magee and Wood Are Honored : Former County Stars Named to Big West’s 20-Year All-Star Team

Former college All-Americans Kevin Magee and Leon Wood have been selected on the first team of the Big West Conference’s double decade all-star basketball team.

Magee of UC Irvine (1980-82) and Wood of Fullerton (1981-84) joined Ed Ratleff of Long Beach State (1970-73), Armon Gilliam of Nevada Las Vegas (1984-87) and Ron Cornelius of Pacific (1977-81) on the first team. Ratleff was named the most valuable player.

The selections were announced Monday.

Greg Brunch of Fullerton (1973-78) was an honorable-mention selection.


Named to the second team were Sidney Green of Nevada Las Vegas (1982-83), Ricky Berry of San Jose State (1985-88), Greg Grant of Utah State (1982-86), George Trapp of Long Beach State (1969-71), and Brian Shaw of UC Santa Barbara (1983-88).

Others named honorable mention were Rod Higgins of Fresno State (1978-82), Richie Adams of Nevada Las Vegas (1981-85), Freddie Banks of Nevada Las Vegas (1983-87), John Gianelli of Pacific (1969-72), and Bernard Thompson of Fresno State (1980-84).