Six Writers Receive Lannan Awards

The Lannan Foundation announced six recipients of its second Lannan Literary Awards in fiction, nonfiction and poetry on Tuesday.

The $35,000 international awards recognize "writing that is critical and questioning and calls attention to essential humanistic values in imaginative and skillful ways," said Meghan Ferrill, director of the Los Angeles-based foundation's literary programs.

Receiving awards for their contributions to literature are John Hawkes for fiction, Seamus Heaney for poetry and Barry Lopez for nonfiction. Named to fellowships given for literary merit and the likelihood of outstanding future work are poets Carolyn Forche, Derek Mahon and Peter Reading.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World