THE 65th ACADEMY AWARD NOMINATIONS : Full List of Academy Award Nominees

* Picture: "The Crying Game," "A Few Good Men," "Howards End," "Scent of a Woman," "Unforgiven."

* Actor: Robert Downey Jr., "Chaplin"; Clint Eastwood, "Unforgiven"; Al Pacino, "Scent of a Woman"; Stephen Rea, "The Crying Game"; Denzel Washington, "Malcolm X."

* Actress: Catherine Deneuve, "Indochine"; Mary McDonnell, "Passion Fish"; Michelle Pfeiffer, "Love Field"; Susan Sarandon, "Lorenzo's Oil"; Emma Thompson, "Howards End."

* Supporting Actor: Jaye Davidson, "The Crying Game"; Gene Hackman, "Unforgiven"; Jack Nicholson, "A Few Good Men"; Al Pacino, "Glengarry Glen Ross"; David Paymer, "Mr. Saturday Night."

* Supporting Actress: Judy Davis, "Husbands and Wives"; Joan Plowright, "Enchanted April"; Vanessa Redgrave, "Howards End"; Miranda Richardson, "Damage"; Marisa Tomei, "My Cousin Vinny."

* Director: Neil Jordan, "The Crying Game"; James Ivory, "Howards End"; Robert Altman, "The Player"; Martin Brest, "Scent of a Woman"; Clint Eastwood, "Unforgiven."

* Original Screenplay: Neil Jordan, "The Crying Game"; Woody Allen, "Husbands and Wives"; George Miller, Nick Enright, "Lorenzo's Oil"; John Sayles, "Passion Fish"; David Webb Peoples, "Unforgiven."

* Adapted Screenplay: Peter Barnes, "Enchanted April"; Ruth Prawer Jhabvala, "Howards End"; Michael Tolkin, "The Player"; Richard Friedenberg, "A River Runs Through It"; Bo Goldman, "Scent of a Woman."

* Foreign Language Film: "Close to Eden," Russia; "Daens," Belgium; "Indochine," France; "A Place in the World," Uruguay; "Schtonk," Germany.

* Art Direction: Thomas Sanders, Garrett Lewis, "Bram Stoker's Dracula"; Stuart Craig, Chris A. Butler, "Chaplin"; Luciana Arrighi, Ian Whittaker, "Howards End"; Ferdinando Scarfiotti, Linda DeScenna, "Toys"; Henry Bumstead, Janice Blackie-Goodine, "Unforgiven."

* Cinematography: Stephen H. Burum, "Hoffa"; Tony Pierce-Roberts, "Howards End"; Robert Fraisse, "The Lover"; Philippe Rousselot, "A River Runs Through It"; Jack N. Green, "Unforgiven."

* Costume Design: Eiko Ishioka, "Bram Stoker's Dracula"; Sheena Napier, "Enchanted April"; Jenny Beavan, John Bright, "Howards End"; Ruth Carter, "Malcolm X"; Albert Wolsky, "Toys."

* Documentary Feature: David Haugland, "Changing Our Minds: The Story of Dr. Evelyn Hooker"; Sally Dundas, "Fires of Kuwait"; William Miles, Nina Rosenblum, "Liberators: Fighting on Two Fronts in World War II"; Margaret Smilov, Roma Baran, "Music for the Movies: Bernard Herrmann"; Barbara Trent, David Kasper, "The Panama Deception."

* Documentary Short: Geoffrey O'Connor, "At the Edge of Conquest: The Journey of Chief Wai-Wai"; Wendy L. Weinberg, "Beyond Imagining: Margaret Anderson and the 'Little Review' "; Richard Elson, Sally Bochner, "The Colours of My Father: A Portrait of Sam Borenstein"; Thomas C. Goodwin, Gerardine Wurzburg, "Educating Peter"; Dorothy Fadiman, "When Abortion Was Illegal: Untold Stories."

* Editing: Frank J. Urioste, "Basic Instinct"; Kant Pan, "The Crying Game"; Robert Leighton, "A Few Good Men"; Geraldine Peroni, "The Player"; Joel Cox, "Unforgiven."

* Makeup: Ve Neill, Ronnie Specter, Stan Winston, "Batman Returns"; Greg Cannom, Michele Burke, Matthew W. Mungle, "Bram Stoker's Dracula"; Ve Neill, Greg Cannom, John Blake, "Hoffa."

* Original Score: Alan Menken, "Aladdin"; Jerry Goldsmith, "Basic Instinct"; John Barry, "Chaplin"; Richard Robbins, "Howards End"; Mark Isham, "A River Runs Through It."

* Original Song: Robert Kraft, Arne Glimcher, "Beautiful Maria of My Soul" from "The Mambo Kings"; Alan Menken, Howard Ashman, "Friend Like Me" from "Aladdin"; David Foster, Linda Thompson, "I Have Nothing" from "The Bodyguard"; Jud Friedman, Allan Rich, "Run to You" from "The Bodyguard"; Alan Menken, Tim Rice, "Whole New World" from "Aladdin."

* Animated Short: Peter Lord, "Adam"; Joan C. Gratz, "Mona Lisa Descending a Staircase"; Michaela Pavlatova, "Reci, Reci, Reci . . ." (Words, Words, Words . . .); Paul Berry, "The Sandman"; Barry J.C. Purves, "Screen Play."

* Live-Action Short: Jonathan Darby, Jana Sue Memel, "Contact"; Matt Palmieri, "Cruise Control"; Christian M. Taylor, "The Lady in Waiting"; Sam Karmann, "Omnibus"; Kenneth Branagh, "Swan Song."

* Sound: Terry Porter, Mel Metcalfe, David J. Hudson, Doc Kane, "Aladdin"; Kevin O'Connell, Rick Kline, Bob Eber, "A Few Good Men"; Chris Jenkins, Doug Hemphill, Mark Smith, Simon Kaye, "The Last of the Mohicans"; Don Mitchell, Frank A. Montano, Rick Hart, Scott Smith, "Under Siege"; Les Fresholtz, Vern Poore, Dick Alexander, Rob Young, "Unforgiven."

* Sound-Effects Editing: Mark Mangini, "Aladdin"; Tom C. McCarthy, David E. Stone, "Bram Stoker's Dracula"; John Leveque, Bruce Stambler, "Under Siege."

* Visual Effects: Richard Edlund, Alec Gillis, Tom Woodruff Jr., George Gibbs, "Alien 3"; Michael Fink, Craig Barron, John Bruno, Dennis Skotak, "Batman Returns"; Ken Ralston, Doug Chiang, Doug Smythe, Tom Woodruff Jr., "Death Becomes Her."

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World