The Winners inCreative Arts Fields

Here are the winners of the 53rd annual nighttime Emmy Awards in the creative arts categories, announced Sept. 8 by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.


Animated program (one hour or more): “Allosaurus: A Walking with Dinosaurs Special,” Discovery. Animated program (less than one hour): “The Simpsons,” Fox. Children’s program: “The Teen Files: Surviving High School,” UPN. Classical music-dance program: “La Traviata From Paris (Great Performances),” PBS. Commercial: “Photo Booth,” PBS, Fallon Minneapolis.



Guest actor, comedy series: Derek Jacobi, “Frasier,” NBC.Guest actress, comedy series: Jean Smart, “Frasier,” NBC.Guest actor, drama series: Michael Emerson, “The Practice,” ABC.Guest actress, drama series: Sally Field, “ER,” NBC.Voice-over Performance: Hank Azaria, “The Simpsons,” Fox; Ja’net Dubois, “The PJs,” WB.


Comedy series: Nikki Valko, Ken Miller, “Ally McBeal,” Fox.Drama series: Kevin Scott, John Frank Levey, Barbara Miller, “The West Wing,” NBC.Miniseries, movie or special: Mali Finn, “61*,” HBO.



Multi-camera series: Tony Askins, “Will & Grace,” NBC.Single-camera series: Thomas A. Del Ruth, “The West Wing,” NBC.Miniseries or movie: Vittorio Storaro, “Frank Herbert’s Dune,” Sci Fi.

Nonfiction Programming

Nonfiction program (reality): “American High,” Fox.Nonfiction program (special class): “Survivor,” CBS.Nonfiction special: “Scottsboro: An American Tragedy (American Experience),” PBS.Nonfiction series: “American Masters: Finding Lucy,” PBS.Cinematography: John Davey, Nol Smart, Didier Portal, Bogdan Verzhbitsky, “Land of the Mammoth,” Discovery.Sound editing: Joel Reidy, Victor Chainey, Michael Danks, Dave Lezynski, Andrew Sherriff, Simon Gotel, “Allosaurus: A Walking With Dinosaurs Special,” Discovery. Picture editing: Charlton McMillan, “Living Dolls: The Making of a Child Beauty Queen,” HBO. Sound mixing: Terry Dwyer, Mark Jasper, “Survivor,” CBS.



Costuming, series: Jean-Pierre Dorleac, Gilberto Mello, “The Lot,” AMC.Costuming, miniseries, movie or special: Dona Granata, Ann Peiponen, Brian Russman, “Life With Judy Garland: Me and My Shadows,” ABC.Costume design, variety or music program: Francois Barbeau, “Cirque du Soleil’s Dralion,” Bravo.


Series: Kymbra Callaghan, Stephen M. Kelley, “The Sopranos,” HBO; Cheri Montesanto-Medcalf, Matthew Mungle, Laverne Munroe, Clinton Wayne, Robin Luce, “The X-Files,” Fox.Miniseries, movie or special: Pamela Roth, Debi Drennan, “Life With Judy Garland: Me and My Shadows,” ABC.



Series: Matthew Kasten, Mishell Chandler, Desmond Miller, Rod Ortega, Mimi Jafari, Fabrizio Sanges, “Mad TV,” Fox.Miniseries, movie or special: Marie-Ange Ripka, Andrea Traunmueller, “Life With Judy Garland: Me and My Shadows,” ABC.

Sound Editing

Series: Walter Newman, Darren Wright, Rick Hromadka, David Werntz, Connie Kazmer, Louis Kleinman, Darleen Stoker-Kageyama, Thomas A. Harris, Sharon Tylk, Casey Crabtree, Mike Crabtree, “ER,” NBC.Miniseries, movie or special: Robert Grieve, Scott Silvey, Meg Taylor, Wayne Griffin, Kimberly Harris, Stephanie Ng, Richard Partlow, “61*,” HBO.

Sound Mixing


Single-camera sound mixing, series: Mark Weingarten, Gary D. Rogers, Dan Hiland, “The West Wing,” NBC.Single-camera sound mixing, miniseries, movie or special: Lou Solakofski, Orest Shusko, Ian Kankin, “Nuremberg,” TNT.Multi-camera sound mixing, series or special: Brentley Walton, Doug Gray, Anthony Costantini, Rick Himot, “Everybody Loves Raymond,” CBS.Sound mixing, variety or music series or special: Edward J. Greene, Tom Vicari, Bob Douglass, “73rd Annual Academy Awards,” ABC; David Reitzas, “Barbra Streisand: Timeless,” Fox.

Picture Editing

Single-camera picture editing, series: Bill Johnson, “The West Wing,” NBC. Single-camera picture editing, miniseries, movie or special: John Bloom, “Wit,” HBO.Multi-camera picture editing, series: Ron Volk, “Frasier,” NBC. Multi-camera picture editing, miniseries, movie or special: Thom Zimny, “Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band,” HBO.

Art Direction


Multi-camera series: Glenda Rovello, Melinda Ritz, “Will & Grace,” NBC.Single-camera series: Paul Eads, Mindy Roffman, Jan Pascale, “Boston Public,” Fox.Miniseries, movie or special: Ondrej Nekzasil, Jan Vlasak, Marie Raskova, “Anne Frank,” ABC.Variety or music program: John Iacovelli, Aaron King, “Peter Pan Starring Cathy Rigby,” A&E.;

Technical Direction

Technical direction/camerawork/video, series: Timothy Kennedy, George Rothweiller, Al Cialino, David Dorsett, Karin-Lucie Grzella, Jack Young, John Hannel, John Curtin, Joel Solofsky, Bill White, “Late Show With David Letterman,” CBS.Technical direction/camerawork/video, miniseries, movie or special: John Pritchett, Larry Heider, Sam Drummy, Ken Dahlquist, Greg Harms, Ted Ashton, Brad Zerbst, Ron Sheldon, Scoop Geren, David Eastwood, Bill Chaikowsky, Tom Tcimpidis, John Palacio Sr., “Barbra Streisand: Timeless,” Fox.



Music direction: Marvin Hamlisch, “Barbra Streisand: Timeless,” Fox.Music and lyrics: Patrick Williams, “Yesterday’s Children,” CBS.Music composition, series (dramatic underscore): Jay Chattaway, “Star Trek: Voyager,” UPN.Music composition, miniseries, movie or special: Arturo Sandoval, “For Love or Country: The Arturo Sandoval Story,” HBO.Main title theme music: James Newton, “Gideon’s Crossing,” ABC.


Choreography: Jim Moore, George Pinney, Jon Vanderkolff, “Blast,” PBS.Main title design: Karin Fong, Dana Yee, Peggy Oei, Grant Lau, “Exxon Mobil Masterpiece Theatre’s American Collection,” PBS.Individual achievement in animation: Rodney Clouden, “Futurama,” Fox; Curt Enderle, “Gary & Mike,” UPN; Brad Schiff, “Gary & Mike,” UPN; Kyle Menke, “Invader Zim,” Nickelodeon.

Lighting direction (electronic, multi-camera): Jeff Ravitz, Gregg Maltby, “Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band,” HBO.


Special visual effects, series: Dan Curry, Mitch Suskin, Ron Moore, Art Codron, Steve Fong, Eric Chauvin, Robert Bonchune, John Teska, Greg Rainoff, “Star Trek: Voyager,” UPN.

Special visual effects, miniseries, movie or special: Ernest Farino, Tim McHugh, Laurel Klick, Frank H. Isaacs, Elaine Essex Thompson, James Healy, Gregory Nicotero, Anthony Alderson, Chris Zapara, “Frank Herbert’s Dune,” Sci Fi.