Janet Jackson releases track listing and details of ‘Unbreakable’

Janet Jackson performs at the Greek Theatre on Sept. 1, 2011.

Janet Jackson performs at the Greek Theatre on Sept. 1, 2011.

(Genaro Molina / Los Angeles Times)

Janet Jackson has released more details of her upcoming studio album, “Unbreakable.”

The album, her first in seven years, will arrive Oct. 2. An announcement on her website Thursday offered a track listing and list of collaborators, and Jackson augmented the news with a series of tweets that further excited her obsessive fan base.

Like many of her classics throughout the decades, Jackson’s eleventh studio album will be produced by Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, who nearly 30 years ago shocked pop fans with their innovative collaboration with Jackson on “Control.”


SIGN UP for the free Essential Arts & Culture newsletter >>

According to the announcement, Jackson’s thematic concerns are varied, and include:

“Janet’s views on where we stand today as individuals and as the inter-related elements of a planet. Some of these relate to her convictions passionately expressed in ‘Rhythm Nation 1814,’ including the need to bring things out in the open and to have a dialogue. The album also will mark the first time Janet Jackson has opened up about her brother Michael and with reflections concerning her youth.

“Inherent in this music will be her feeling that we must learn to celebrate life and the things each of us experiences and endures and how that process can make each person stronger. The Album, she assures her fans, contains messages and observations throughout, that are based on the fact that Janet Jackson has lived a lot of life.”

In a joint statement accompanying the news, Jam and Lewis said: “It’s wonderful to be creating again with Janet. From songwriting, producing, arranging, singing, dancing, acting, she deftly does it all and truly personifies the word artist. ‘Unbreakable’ is a gift to all of her fans who have steadfastly stood by her. It is a subject for conversation, a plea for compassion, and a call for action from someone who’s come a long way, but’s got a long way to go, and has much to say about it. In other words, if you want to know what’s on her mind you only have to listen.”

Jackson, who linked to that statement in her Twitter feed Thursday morning, also offered lyrics to the title track on “Unbreakable.” A love letter to her fans, it thanks them for their affection over the years, describing them as “family that walks through fire for me so I don’t get hurt.”

The track listing for “Unbreakable” follows:.

Burnitup! (Feat. Missy Elliott)
Dammn Baby
The Great Forever
Shoulda Known Better
After You Fall
Broken Hearts Heal
No Sleeep (Feat. J Cole)
Dream Maker/ Euphoria
2 B Loved
Take Me Away
Lessons Learned
Black Eagle
Well Traveled
Gon B Alright

Follow Randall Roberts on Twitter: @liledit