Junior Seau, Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown head Hall of Fame class

Junior Seau
Linebacker Junior Seau was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday with running back Jerome Bettis, wide receiver Tim Brown and defensive lineman Charles Haley.
(Stephen Dunn / Getty Images)

Linebacker Junior Seau, running back Jerome Bettis, wide receiver Tim Brown, defensive lineman Charles Haley and offensive lineman Will Shields have been elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, the organization announced Saturday.

The class of 2015 includes contributors Bill Polian, former Indianapolis Colts and Buffalo Bills executive; and Ron Wolf, former Green Bay Packers general manager; along with senior selection Mick Tingelhoff.

Five nominees were eliminated in the final vote: Tony Dungy, Kevin Greene, Marvin Harrison, Orlando Pace and Kurt Warner. Earlier in the day, the selection committee reduced the list of 15 modern-day finalists by cutting players Morten Andersen, Terrell Davis and John Lynch and coaches Don Coryell and Jimmy Johnson.

The induction ceremony is in August at Canton, Ohio.


Rodgers is MVP

Green Bay quarterback Aaron Rodgers won his second NFL most-valuable-player award, and Houston’s J.J. Watt was chosen defensive player of the year in voting conducted by the Associated Press and announced during the NFL Honors TV program.

Rodgers, also the AP’s MVP choice in 2011, received 31 votes for the 2014 award from a nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the league. Watt, seeking to become the first defensive player to win MVP since 1986, got 13 votes.

Rodgers threw for 38 touchdowns with a league-low five interceptions. Watt, a defensive end, led the league with 201/2 sacks.


NFL rushing champion DeMarco Murray of Dallas was voted offensive player of the year, and Arizona’s Bruce Arians was named coach of the year for the second time in three seasons.

Arians’ defensive coordinator with the Cardinals, Todd Bowles, won the first assistant-coach-of-the-year award. Bowles was hired as head coach of the New York Jets last month.

New York Giants wide receiver Odell Beckham Jr. was voted top offensive rookie after a season in which he finished with 91 receptions for 1,305 yards and 12 touchdowns. St. Louis tackle Aaron Donald won top defensive rookie honors.

Chancellor on mend

Seahawks strong safety Kam Chancellor “looked pretty good” according to Coach Pete Carroll as Seattle went through final preparations for today’s Super Bowl against New England. Chancellor left practice a day earlier with his left knee wrapped after falling on the second-to-last play. He arrived for Saturday’s walk-through without a limp, according to a pool report.

Get our daily Sports Report newsletter