Four-stroke penalty costs Lexi Thompson, who loses ANA Inspiration in playoff to So Yeon Ryu
An eagle-eyed TV viewer, watching the LPGA’s first major of the year, spotted day-old rules infractions that left Lexi Thompson in tears. (April 3, 2017) (Sign up for our free video newsletter here http://bit.ly/2n6VKPR)
So Yeon Ryu won the ANA Inspiration on Sunday in a one-hole playoff with Lexi Thompson, who was given a four-stroke penalty late in the final round for an incorrect ball placement a day earlier.
Ryu birdied the 18th hole in the playoff to win her second major title, but her celebration was muted because of the bizarre circumstances on the Dinah Shore Course.
The 22-year-old Thompson had a three-shot lead and appeared to be cruising to her second major championship when LPGA Tour rules officials informed her of the penalty with six holes to play.
An email from a television viewer during Sunday’s final round alerted officials to the violation committed Saturday, and the LPGA Tour confirmed it with video review. Thompson had marked a 1-foot putt with a coin on the 17th green during her third round Saturday, but she replaced the ball perhaps 1 inch out of position.
“It’s unfortunate what happened,” Thompson said. “I did not mean that at all. I didn’t realize I did that. I felt strong through the finish, and it was great to see the fans behind me.”
Thompson’s composure was visibly shaken when the ruling dropped her one shot off the lead, but she incredibly birdied the 13th hole. She battled back into a five-way tie for the lead, making three birdies and a bogey on the final six holes of regulation at Mission Hills Country Club.
Ryu birdied the 18th hole to move in front, but Thompson crushed her approach shot on the 18th several minutes later. With emotions visible on her face amid loud chants of her name, Thompson gathered herself — but left a 15-foot winning eagle putt about an inch short.
Ryu, who also won the 2011 U.S. Women’s Open, claimed her second major title with an excellent playoff hole after her final-round 68 at the LPGA Tour’s first major of the year.
“I just cannot believe the situation,” Ryu said. “I didn’t even check the leaderboard. I thought Lexi played really, really well. I didn’t expect what happened to Lexi. It’s a very unfortunate situation. I didn’t expect it. I thought I’m well behind, so all I wanted to do was play my game.”
Ryu still made the traditional joyous leap into Poppie’s Pond with her caddie and family.
Norway’s Suzann Pettersen barely missed a birdie putt on the 18th to force a three-way playoff. She finished tied for third with Inbee Park and Minjee Lee.
“I can’t go to bed tonight knowing I let a rule slide,” Witters said. “It’s a hard thing to do, and it made me sick, to be honest with you.”
Thompson was penalized two strokes for an incorrect ball placement and two strokes for an incorrect scorecard.
“Is this a joke?” Thompson asked Witters.
After being assured it wasn’t, she responded: “This is ridiculous.”
Thompson choked up slightly, but gathered herself and mashed a drive.
While Park birdied the 16th moments later to create a five-person tie for the lead, Dinah Shore Course officials laboriously changed every number next to Thompson’s name on the scoreboard across from Poppie’s Pond.
Golf fans on the course and the Internet erupted with outrage when the LPGA’s decision became understood. Tiger Woods immediately came to Thompson’s defense on Twitter.
“Viewers at home should not be officials wearing stripes,” Woods wrote. “Let’s go #Lexi, win this thing anyway.”
As awkward as the situation was, it could have been worse: If golf officials hadn’t made a rule change last year, Thompson would have been disqualified.
The decision against Thompson was the second debatable penalty to hit a major leader in golf in the past year. At the men’s U.S. Open at Oakmont last year, Dustin Johnson won despite playing the last seven holes without knowing his score. His ball had moved slightly while he lined up a putt on the fifth green, the USGA eventually hit him with a one-shot penalty after his round.
Henley’s 65 carries him to win at Houston Open
Russell Henley made 10 birdies in the final round and closed with a seven-under 65 to win the Shell Houston Open and earn the final spot in the Masters.
Henley started the final round four shots behind and caught up to Sung Kang with five birdies in eighth holes. Henley fell back with a double bogey from the bunker on the par-three ninth.
They were tied with six holes to play when Henley ran off three straight birdies with two short putts on par 5s and a 35-foot putt on the par-three 14th.
Kang, going for his first PGA Tour victory, didn’t make a birdie over his last 10 holes. Henley finished at 20-under 268 for a three-shot victory, the third of his career and first since 2014.
Jimenez takes PGA Tour Champions victory in Mississippi
Miguel Angel Jimenez made a birdie putt on the first playoff hole to beat Gene Sauers and win his second consecutive Mississippi Gulf Resort Classic in Biloxi.
Jimenez looked as if he was going to win relatively easily with a two-shot lead going into No. 18 at Fallen Oak. But the 53-year-old Spaniard had a stunning double bogey on 18 to finish at two-under 70 for the round. Sauers made par to force the playoff, but his second shot on the playoff hole found the bunker, and he couldn’t recover.
Sauers started the final round with a one-shot lead after a superb 63 on Saturday, but shot a 71 on Sunday to fall just short of his first victory of the season. Steve Stricker, who shot a 65 for the lowest final round, and Bernhard Langer were tied for third, one shot behind the leaders.
Get our high school sports newsletter
Prep Rally is devoted to the SoCal high school sports experience, bringing you scores, stories and a behind-the-scenes look at what makes prep sports so popular.
You may occasionally receive promotional content from the Los Angeles Times.