Proposal Would Change Four Leagues

Orange County high school principals voted Tuesday night on a releaguing proposal for the 1986-87 season, and although the outcome won't be announced for another week, it appears four leagues will be altered.

Under the proposal, which must be approved by 28 of the 55 Orange County high school principals to pass, there would be eight 6-team leagues and one 8-team league--the Empire League--in the county. The most significant changes would be Tustin and Orange leaving the Century League and the formation of a new league in the south county.

La Habra principal Tom Triggs supervised the five-man releaguing committee. He said he expected the proposal to pass.

"Some of the principals missed the meeting, so I'm going to have to mail them a ballot, and we won't have the final results until March 12," Triggs said.

The proposal would align the leagues as follows:

Century League--Canyon, El Modena, Foothill, Santa Ana, Santa Ana Valley and Villa Park.

Empire League-- Cypress, El Dorado, Esperanza, Katella, Kennedy, Loara, Los Alamitos and Pacifica.

Freeway League--Buena Park, Fullerton, La Habra, Sonora, Sunny Hills and Troy.

Garden Grove League--Bolsa Grande, Garden Grove, La Quinta, Los Amigos, Rancho Alamitos and Santiago.

Orange League--Anaheim, Brea-Olinda, Magnolia, Savanna, Valencia and Western.

Sea View--Corona del Mar, Estancia, Newport Harbor, Saddleback, Tustin and University.

South Coast League--Capistrano Valley, Dana Hills, El Toro, Irvine, Mission Viejo and San Clemente.

Sunset League--Edison, Fountain Valley, Huntington Beach, Marina, Ocean View and Westminster.

New League--Costa Mesa, Laguna Beach, Laguna Hills, Orange, Trabuco Hills and Woodbridge.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World