Election Today for S.D. Mayor

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. today in San Diego's special mayoral primary.

Individuals uncertain of their polling place or who have other Election Day problems can contact the registrar of voters office at 565-5800 for assistance.

Three major candidates--San Diego City Councilman Bill Cleator, former Councilman Floyd Morrow and former Councilwoman Maureen O'Connor--and 13 long shots are on the ballot, competing for the right to serve the remaining 2 1/2 years in the mayoral term of Roger Hedgecock, who resigned in December after his felony conviction. The name of acting Mayor Ed Struiksma, who withdrew earlier this month after the district attorney's office announced that it would investigate expenses he incurred for a trip to New York in 1984, is also on the ballot.

If no candidate receives more than 50% of the primary vote, the top two will compete in a June 3 runoff.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World