All-San Diego Section Soccer : Ashworth Named Top 3-A Player

Poway High School’s John Ashworth was named the San Diego Section boys’ 3-A player of the year, and Kim Grzanka of Bonita Vista and Janal Urich of Valhalla shared the girls’ honor.

Eric Ople of La Jolla and Nick Diaz of Ramona were named co-players of the year in boys’ 2-A, and Mission Bay’s Lorena Aviles received the award for the 2-A girls.

For the record:

12:00 AM, Mar. 19, 1987 For the Record
Los Angeles Times Thursday March 19, 1987 San Diego County Edition Sports Part 3 Page 17 Column 5 Sports Desk 1 inches; 18 words Type of Material: Correction
Armin Munevar, a member of the San Diego Section boys’ All-County 2-A soccer team, attends University High School, not La Jolla.

The San Diego Section All-County soccer teams:



John Ashworth Poway Don Cubbage Poway Jeff Lapinsky Valhalla Scott Hargrove Valhalla Jason Daniels Vista Andy Whitlock Point Loma Todd Scott Madison Ernesto Erding Montgomery Dain DeForest Grossmont Paul Wright Grossmont Mark Ostrander Bonita Vista Steve Cokkinis Bonita Vista Paul Wright Grossmont


Janal Urich Valhalla Crissy Treadway Valhalla Kim Grzanka Bonita Vista Laurie Christensen Bonita Vista Ronne Pietila Bonita Vista Cheryl Parker Serra Charry Korgel Poway Kirsten Pinnell Poway Wendi Ashworth Poway



Eric Ople La Jolla Armin Munevar La Jolla Nick Diaz Ramona Oscar Bravo Ramona Manuel Rodriguez San Diego Ed Wilgenburg Calvin Christian Abel Neri San Marcos Mike Shanahan Clairemont Ponce Gallegos St. Augustine Wes Cate Christian Rene Ortiz Southwest Edward Hernandez Army-Navy


Lorena Aviles Mission Bay Kori Rucker Mission Bay Kris Kuhlmeyer San Pasqual Karin Lindsay San Pasqual Noemi Lizalde Escondido Cuqui Gutierrez Southwest Diane Schofield Southwest Cindy Whit Christian Tracy O’Rourke San Marcos Kim Nelson Ramona Jacquie Santos University Karen Steffen University