Times Prep Basketball Awards : Morris, Staggers Win City’s Top Prizes

<i> Times Staff Writer </i>

Reggie Morris of Manual Arts High School and John Staggers of Crenshaw were named Central City coach and player of the year, respectively, Sunday afternoon at The Times’ annual basketball banquet at the Anaheim Hilton, the second straight time each has won.

Phil Chase from Washington was named the girls’ coach of the year and Kim Young of Jordan the girls’ player of the year.

Morris coached a team without any starter taller than 6 foot 4 to a second-place finish in the City 4-A division and, after gaining an at-large berth to the state playoffs, won the California Division I title in Oakland.

Staggers, a senior, is considered one of the top offensive players in the state, with the ability to drive or shoot from the outside. He averaged 23 points a game and helped lead Crenshaw to the City 4-A title.


Washington exceeded expectations under Chase, one of the mainstays in City girls basketball. The Generals, who reached the quarterfinals in 1986-87, came back to finish second in the Mid-City League and made it to the 4-A final before losing to Westchester.

Young established herself as one of the most versatile players in Southern California, while averaging 28 points a game, including a City single-game high for 1987-88 of 42. A senior, she is a two-time selection to the All-Central City team.

The major award winners from The Times’ 11 other circulation areas, in order of boys’ player of the year, boys’ coach, girls’ player, and girls’ coach:

Southeast--Scott Rockzey (Santa Fe of Santa Fe Springs), Joe Mendoza (Santa Fe), Tonya Zwagerman (Valley Christian of Cerritos), Gilberto Limon and Ken Popkin of Bell Gardens.


San Fernando Valley--Mitchell Butler (Oakwood of North Hollywood), Howie Levine (Grant of Van Nuys), Kerrie Marshall (El Camino Real of Woodland Hills), Andrea Francola (Reseda).

San Gabriel Valley--Geoff Lear (Bishop Amat of La Puente), Alex Acosta (Bishop Amat), Susan Peters (Los Altos of Hacienda Heights), Mike Lassalette (Edgewood of West Covina).

Westside--Chris Mills (Fairfax), Jim Nakabara (University of Los Angeles), Trisha Stafford (Westchester), Beverlie Pendleton (Westchester).

Orange County--Adam Keefe (Woodbridge of Irvine), John Mayberry (Kennedy of La Palma), Aimee McDaniel (Brea-Olinda), Eric Bangs (Woodbridge).


Glendale--Jeff Sofro (Glendale), Tom Hofman (La Canada), Laura Redford (Franklin of Los Angeles), Isabella Ceplechia (Flintridge Sacred Heart of La Canada).

Ventura County--Don MacLean (Simi Valley), Glen Hanah (Buena of Ventura), Mary Klemm (Buena), Tom McConville (Santa Clara of Oxnard).

South Bay--Harold Minor (Inglewood), Phil Sherman (Leuzinger of Lawndale), Shaunda Greene (Morningside of Inglewood), Frank Scott (Morningside).

San Diego County--Courtie Miller (Torrey Pines of Del Mar), Jim Thompson (Madison of San Diego), Chris Enger (Vista), Brad Merrill and Lori Becker (San Pasqual of Escondido).


Inland Empire--Evric Gray (Bloomington), Stan Smith (Banning), Michelle Williams (North of Riverside), Joe Murillo (Chino).

South Coast--Darrick Martin (St. Anthony of Long Beach), Tom Roanhaus (St. Anthony), Trise Jackson (Lynwood), Carolyn Montgomery (Compton).

Loyola Marymount Coach Paul Westhead was the guest speaker at the event, where 10 boys and 10 girls from each section were honored and given a plaque and certificate.