Burnham Set to Run 200 in National Meet

Angela Burnham of Rio Mesa High will compete Sunday in the National Scholastic Indoor Track and Field Championships in Annapolis, Md.

Burnham, the defending state champion in the 100 and 200 meters, will run in the 200 at the meet, which will be held at the Naval Academy.

Burnham, Track and Field News’ 1988 female high school athlete of the year, won the 100 meters in 11.84 seconds in the Spartan Relays at Rio Mesa on Saturday, the fastest fully electronic time in the nation this year.

Craig Ellis, a Poly High alumnus, has been signed by the Edmonton Eskimos of the Canadian Football League.


Ellis, 28, replaced Marcus Allen as the Raiders’ starting running back during the 1987 players’ strike but was released when the strike ended.

The former San Diego State standout also played for the Miami Dolphins in 1986 after spending four seasons with three CFL teams.

Bruce Watson and Roger Thomas of Moorpark College were selected to the All-Western State Conference team. Kevin Price and Aaron Clark from Canyons and Tory Stephens of Valley were also first-team selections.

Steve Murphy, Greg Taylor and Alex Porter of Moorpark and Deon Myricks of Canyons were all-conference honorable-mention selections.


Valley center Ruth Aguilar, who averaged 14.7 points a game to lead the Lady Monarchs, was named the WSC women’s Most Valuable Player. Kerrie Marshall and Kristie Sterbens of Moorpark, Tisa Rush of Valley, Tressie Millender of Canyons and Dollie Lucero of Glendale were also all-conference first-team selections.

Susie Smiley and Cindy Wiley of Moorpark, Debbie Barnard of Canyons and Teresa McCanley of Glendale were honorable-mention selections. Valley had four honorable-mention selections--Shagarro Lattin, Karrie Parsons, Sandrine Rocher and Christine Rumfola.

The Master’s College baseball team will play an exhibition game against a Swedish national team March 14 at 2:30 p.m. at Master’s. The Swedish team is training in preparation for the European Cup, an annual summer tournament in Western Europe.

The Cal Lutheran softball team will play host to Christ College on Friday in the first round of an invitational tournament at Cal Lutheran. Six teams will compete in the double-elimination tournament, including four from the the Golden State Athletic Conference.

The 10th Alemany-Cal State Northridge Invitational track meet is scheduled for March 18 at Northridge. More than 2,000 athletes from about 250 high schools will compete, including Angela Burnham of Rio Mesa, Crissy Mills of Campbell Hall, Russell White of Crespi and Tony Borquez of Alemany.

Burnham is the defending state champion in the 100 and 200 meters and Mills is the defending state champion in the girls’ high jump. White finished eighth in the 200 in last year’s state championships and Borquez was eighth in the 400.

Michelle Trimble has not only qualified for the NCAA Division III nationals in the 5,000 and 3,000 meters, she has trampled through the Occidental College record book.

The second time she ever competed in the 5,000, Trimble, a senior, ran 17:31, shattering the school record by 28 seconds. Against Fresno State, she qualified in the 3,000 (10 minutes, nine seconds) and a week later at Long Beach improved her 3,000 time by more than three seconds a lap (9:44.9).


Junior Ben White qualified in the long jump (23 feet, 6 inches) and triple jump (a personal-best 47-6) Saturday in a four-team meet against Whittier, Pomona-Pitzer and La Verne.

Emmet Hogan, a sophomore, qualified in the 5,000 against Long Beach with a time of 14:40.5.

Robin Romeo of Van Nuys and Brian Voss of Seattle tied for February Bowler of the Month in balloting by the Bowling Writers Assn. of America. Romeo appeared in three consecutive nationally televised championship rounds and won two of those tournaments.

Football players from throughout the Valley will receive scholar-athlete awards from the National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame at a banquet tonight at The Odyssey restaurant in Granada Hills. Senior football players from area high schools were selected for the scholar-athlete awards based on academic achievements.