CROSS-COUNTRY STATE CHAMPIONSHIPS : Quintana, Rothman Win Individual Titles


Louie Quintana of Arroyo Grande High and Jeannie Rothman of Westlake Village Westlake recorded the fastest times of the day in winning the boys' Division I and girls' Division II titles at the state cross-country championships Saturday at Woodward Park.

Quintana toured the 5,000-meter (3.1-mile) course in 14 minutes 47 seconds--two seconds shy of the state-meet record of 14:45 set last year by three-time champion Bryan Dameworth of Agoura. Rothman timed 17:28, one second away from Agoura standout Deena Drossin's record set in 1989.

Drossin clocked 17:30, winning her third Division I title in the four years, and the Agoura girls' team ended three years of frustration by winning the team title with 41 points over San Diego Mt. Carmel, which had 68. Agoura placed second to Palos Verdes in the past three state Division I finals. Three-time defending champion Palos Verdes was fifth with 124 points.

Newhall Hart upset No. 1 Madera for the boys' Division I title after losing to the Coyotes in the Stanford and Mt. San Antonio College invitationals. The second-ranked Indians beat Madera, 58-113, behind the eighth-place effort of Billy Dixon (15:48).

City Section champion Los Angeles Belmont matched Oxnard Channel Islands with 147 points, but Belmont was awarded fourth outright on the basis of a faster sixth runner.

Escondido San Pasqual became the first school to win two state titles in the same season. Robert Walker won in 15:25, leading the Golden Eagles past Camarillo, 64-86, in Division II. San Pasqual's girls placed five runners in the top 19 to beat Irvine Woodbridge, 38-83.

Newbury Park junior Jeff Wilson posted the third-fastest time of the day--15:15--in winning the Division III title over James Menon (15:26) of San Luis Obispo.

Freshman Carrie Garritson of Rim of the World in Riverside upset Livermore's Becky Spies, 18:01-18:21, in Division III.

Third-ranked Fillmore beat No. 1 Sierra Madre Maranatha, 90-98, for the boys' Division IV title.

Ojai Nordhoff edged Morro Bay, 77-79, for the Division IV girls title.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World