‘GoodFellas’ Tops L.A. Critics Poll : Best Picture, Director Awards Go to Gangster Tale, Costner a Runner-Up; Irons, Huston Also Honored


Martin Scorsese’s “GoodFellas” won five awards, including those for best picture and best director, at Saturday’s year-end voting by the Los Angeles Film Critics Assn.

The mob drama, adapted from Nicholas Pileggi’s nonfiction bestseller about career New York hoods, also won supporting actor awards for Joe Pesci and Lorraine Bracco. “GoodFellas’ ” fifth award went to cinematographer Michael Ballhaus.

For the record:

12:00 AM, Dec. 21, 1990 For the Record
Los Angeles Times Friday December 21, 1990 Home Edition Calendar Part F Page 2 Column 6 Entertainment Desk 1 inches; 33 words Type of Material: Correction
Critics award--A recent Calendar story listing winners of the Los Angeles Film Critics Assn.'s 1990 awards had Jenny Livingston and Barry Swimer winning a documentary award for “Paris Is Burning.” The award goes only to Livingston.

Kevin Costner’s “Dances With Wolves,” considered by many in Hollywood to be the front-runner in the coming Oscar race, won no awards from the Los Angeles critics, but placed second to Scorsese and “GoodFellas” in the director and best picture categories.

Francis Ford Coppola’s “The Godfather, Part III,” the year’s most widely anticipated movie, and “Havana,” Sydney Pollack’s first film since his Academy Award sweep with “Out of Africa,” were neither winners nor runners-up in any category.


The Los Angeles Film Critics Assn.--a group made up of local newspaper, magazine and radio movie reviewers--named Jeremy Irons best actor for his performance as Claus von Bulow in “Reversal of Fortune,” while Anjelica Huston won the best actress award for her sinister roles as a con artist in “The Grifters” and the head of a child-hating coven in “Witches.”

“Reversal of Fortune” also won for Nicholas Kazan’s screenplay, making it the only other multiple winner.

Among other winners, Ryuichi Sakamoto won for his musical score to Bernardo Bertolucci’s “The Sheltering Sky,” Bertrand Tavernier’s “Life and Nothing But” won as best foreign film and Czech director Dusan Hanak’s “Pictures of the Old World” tied for best documentary with Jenny Livingston and Barry Swimer’s “Paris Is Burning.”

The group voted a special award to veteran black filmmaker Charles Burnett, whose screenplay for “To Sleep With Anger” was the runner-up to Kazan’s “Reversal of Fortune,” and an animation award to directors Hendel Butoy and Mike Gabriel’s “Rescuers Down Under.”


Australian director Jane Campion (“Sweetie”) won the new generation award, given annually to newcomers with promising futures in film, while director Blake Edwards and animation giant Chuck Jones tied for the career achievement award.

The 1990 Los Angeles Film Critics winners and runner-ups:

* Best picture: “GoodFellas.” Runner-up, “Dances With Wolves.”

* Best director: Martin Scorsese, “GoodFellas.” Runner-up, Kevin Costner, “Dances With Wolves.”


* Best actor: Jeremy Irons, “Reversal of Fortune.” Runner-up, Philippe Noiret, “Life and Nothing But.”

* Best actress: Anjelica Huston, “The Grifters” and “Witches.” Runner-up, Joanne Woodward, “Mr. and Mrs. Bridge.”

* Best supporting actress: Lorraine Bracco, “GoodFellas.” Runner-up, Diane Wiest, “Edward Scissorhands.”

* Best supporting actor: Joe Pesci, “GoodFellas.” Runner-up, Bruce Davison, “Longtime Companion.”


* Best screenplay: Nicholas Kazan, “Reversal of Fortune.” Runner-up, Charles Burnett, “To Sleep With Anger.”

* Best score: Ryuichi Sakamoto, “The Sheltering Sky.” Runner-up, Randy Newman, “Avalon.”

* Best cinematography: Michael Ballhaus, “GoodFellas.” Runner-up, Vittorio Storaro, “The Sheltering Sky.”

* Animation award: “Rescuers Down Under,” directors Hendel Butoy and Mike Gabriel.


* Best documentary: “Pictures of the Old World,” Dusan Hanak, and “Paris Is Burning,” Jenny Livingston and Barry Swimer. (Tie.)

* Independent/experimental award: Marlon Riggs, “Tongues Untied.”

* Best foreign film: “Life and Nothing But” (France). Runner-up, “Cyrano de Bergerac” (France).

* Career achievement: Chuck Jones and Blake Edwards. (Tie.)


* New generation: Jane Campion.

* Special award for the body of work: Charles Burnett.