COMMUNITY COLLEGES ALL-LEAGUE TEAMS : Von der Ahe, Clayton, Roskelly Earn Football Honors

Scott von der Ahe of Saddleback was named defensive player of the year, and Orange Coast's Jeff Clayton and Fullerton's Ryan Roskelly shared offensive player of the year honors when the All-Mission Conference Central Division football teams were announced Tuesday.

Von der Ahe, a sophomore linebacker from Mission Viejo High School, had 119 tackles including 15 sacks. He finished his two-year career as Saddleback's all-time leader in tackles (206) and sacks (22 1/2).

Clayton, a freshman running back from Trabuco Hills High, rushed for 1,202 yards and scored 13 touchdowns. He set an OCC single-season mark by gaining 100 or more yards in seven games.

Roskelly, from Valencia High, was the division's most versatile player, averaging 148 all-purpose yards. Roskelly, primarily a receiver, had 56 catches for 708 yards.

Barry Meier of Riverside was named coach of the year. His Tigers lost the first four games but came back to win the final six and the divisional title.

The Mission Conference Central Division team:



Quarterback--Josh Nelson, Fullerton; Running back--Vance Senteno, Golden West; Donnie Bladow, Rancho Santiago; Jeff Clayton, Orange Coast; Wide receiver--Vince Wilson, Ryan Roskelly, Fullerton; Tight end--Mike Holm, Riverside; Line--John Grootegoed, Orange Coast; Carlos Navia, Mike Rockwood, Riverside; George Burge, Jesse Gomez, Rancho Santiago; Kicker--Gene Adair, Orange Coast.


Quarterback--Gabe Garcia, Rancho Santiago; Todd Mather, Orange Coast; Running back--Anthony Richardson, Kenya Smith, Riverside; Wide receiver--Kwabene Idelette, Rancho Santiago; Chris Stone, Saddleback; Ulysses Trammell, Orange Coast; Tight end--Geoff Jones, Rancho Santiago; Line--Justin Polosky, Jason DeLeon, Orange Coast; Jose Gonzalez, Rancho Santiago; Jeff Wilkes, Saddleback; Caleb Kemp, Tafa Jefferson, Golden West; Mark Bigonger, Fullerton; Kicker--Brian Nurick, Rancho Santiago.



Line--Brad Godwin, Riverside; Efriam Miranda, Israel Ifeanyi, Orange Coast; Bernie Johnson, Saddleback; Linebacker--Noa Pua, Orange Coast; Scott von der Ahe, Andy Osborne, Saddleback; John Gumpf, Riverside; Defensive back--Lewis Cayce, Riverside; Shad Hinchen, Saddleback; Scott Caringella, Golden West; Anthoni Davis, Orange Coast; Punter--Justin Sogoian, Orange Coast; Kick returner--Christian Moore, Orange Coast.


Line--Van Tuinei, Golden West; Kevin Mawyer, Riverside; Josh Micklos, Fullerton; Ina Sitagata, Rancho Santiago; Linebacker--Mark Sapolu, Jeremy Michael, Riverside; Matt Finch, Jason Nevadomsky, Fullerton; Aaron Gutridge, Orange Coast; Mike Serrano, Rancho Santiago; Defensive back--Roger Hein, Saddleback; Peter Burton, Fullerton; Randy Karliner, Orange Coast; Demandra Bates, Riverside; Mister Albritton, Rancho Santiago; Punter--Jim Wren, Fullerton; Kick returner--Ryan Roskelly, Fullerton.


Aaron Herr, Allan Perlas, Mark Maddux, Saddleback; Tracy McDaniel, Albert Simpson, John Tuiasosopo, James Gibson, Riverside; Robert Fiesler, Vince Tauanuu, Hung Nguy, Thomas Shaddix, Golden West; Hormaz Jangi, Chris Quinn, Craig Reynolds, Travis McCullough, Shad Vickers, Orange Coast; Jermaine Hill, James Hartford, Brandon LaGraffe, Ishmael Lopez, Brian Crooks, George Garcia, Jason Long, Clinton Davis, Kevin Shoup, Eric O'Conner, Chris Garza, Jason Christinson, Fullerton.


Volleyball: Jessica Lee of Golden West was selected as the Orange Empire Conference's most valuable player.

Lee was one of five Golden West players on the first team. The Rustlers, the top-ranked team in the state, were 12-0 in conference matches. Rancho Santiago's Fran Cummings was named coach of the year.

The Orange Empire Conference team:


Heidi Emmrich, Becca Foltz, Becki Gehlke, Jessica Lee, Jaimie Torromeo, Golden West; Andrea Bill, Yumi Yamazaki, Saddleback; Jennifer Hayhurst, Riverside.


Lori Fuller, Jeanette Little, Fullerton; Vanessa Dahl, Christine Heims, Golden West; Joy Burkholder, Kelly Gallup, Saddleback; Brenda Parks, Kathy Farina, Rancho Santiago; Elizabeth Cherry, Christy Hamilton, Riverside.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World