Pitcher Tori Rocco of Valencia has been...

Pitcher Tori Rocco of Valencia has been chosen Foothill League player of the year.

First-team selections included: Sara Dean, Nicole Delfino, Casey Pickard and Lindsey Kontra of Hart; Lauren Watson and Ashley Herrera of Valencia; Amanda Colon and Sara Larquier of Burroughs; Jaclyn Holden of Saugus; and Kristen Carr of Burbank.

Rudy Bustillos, who guided Santa Paula to the Frontier League championship in his first season, has resigned as coach.

Dean Johnson has been hired as coach at Lancaster. Johnson served as an assistant to Kara Johnson, no relation, who resigned.

Gene Speidel has resigned as coach at Palmdale. Former Palmdale player Deb DiMeglio and assistant Ray Beltrami are top candidates to replace him.


Pitcher Justin Segal of Calabasas was selected most valuable player of the Frontier League. He was 7-3 with a 1.84 earned-run average and three shutouts.

Selected to the all-league team were Ryan Fiore, Travis Flowers and Trevor Weedon of Nordhoff, Sammy Guzman, Jacob Macias, Nathan Perez and Aaron Segovia of Santa Paula, and John Henry Jacobs, Aaron Lowenstein and Brad Schultz of Calabasas.


Chris Catoe, a 6-foot-3 junior All-West Valley League forward from El Camino Real High, has been accepted as an open-enrollment student at Taft.

In addition, Catoe caught 11 passes for the Conquistadores' football team and runs track.


Matt Sikorski, a linebacker from St. Francis High, will attend Augustana College in Rock Island, Ill.


Junior setter Bart Kowalski and senior middle hitter David Russell of Royal have been selected co-most valuable players of the Marmonte League.

Selected to the all-league team were senior outside hitters Cary Hanson of Moorpark, Kamil Kowalski of Royal and Shane Pearson of Newbury Park, senior middle hitter Tyler Meek of Simi Valley, junior setter Chip Neff of Thousand Oaks and junior outside hitter Danny Raven of Thousand Oaks.

Motor Sports

Cory Kruseman of Ventura won the 30-lap main event for SCRA sprint cars at Perris Auto Speedway on Sunday.

Mike Kirby of Lomita finished second, Danny Sheridan of Santa Maria was third and Troy Rutherford of Ojai was 10th.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World